Cette page a été traduite automatiquement et l'exactitude de la traduction n'est pas garantie. Veuillez vous référer au version anglaise pour un texte source.

Epirubicin, Docetaxel, and Capecitabine in Treating Women With Stage IIIA or Stage IIIB Breast Cancer

13 mai 2011 mis à jour par: Mayo Clinic

A Neo-Adjuvant Study of Sequential Epirubicin and Docetaxel in Combination With Capecitabine in Patients With Locally Advanced Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as epirubicin, docetaxel, and capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying the side effects of giving epirubicin together with docetaxel and capecitabine and to see how well it works in treating women with stage IIIA or stage IIIB breast cancer.

Aperçu de l'étude

Description détaillée

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Describe the pathologic response rate in chemotherapy-naive women with locally advanced breast cancer (stage IIIA or IIIB) after 6 courses of sequential neoadjuvant therapy with epirubicin hydrochloride and a combination of docetaxel with capecitabine .
  • Describe the adverse events of sequential epirubicin hydrochloride and a combination of docetaxel with capecitabine in this patient population.

Secondary

  • Identify by transcriptional profiling the differential expression of candidate gene products that confer chemosensitivity to epirubicin hydrochloride, docetaxel, and capecitabine.
  • Correlate the differential expression of known genetic polymorphisms of intracellular regulators involved in the metabolism of epirubicin hydrochloride, docetaxel, and capecitabine with adverse events and tumor response.
  • Assess individual patient variation in clinical (toxicity and/or activity), in pharmacologic (pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic parameters), and/or biologic (correlative laboratory study results) responses to epirubicin hydrochloride, docetaxel, and capecitabine due to genetic differences in proteins involved in drug response (transport, metabolism and/or mechanism of action).

OUTLINE: Patients receive epirubicin hydrochloride IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 2 weeks for 3 courses. Beginning 2 weeks after last dose of epirubicin hydrochloride, patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 and oral capecitabine twice daily on days 1-14. Treatment with docetaxel and capecitabine repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses. Patients then undergo surgery.

Blood samples are collected at baseline for pharmacogenetic studies. Tumor tissue samples are collected at baseline and periodically during treatment for correlative laboratory studies.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 3 months until disease progression and then every 6 months for up to 5 years.

Type d'étude

Interventionnel

Inscription (Anticipé)

47

Phase

  • Phase 2

Critères de participation

Les chercheurs recherchent des personnes qui correspondent à une certaine description, appelée critères d'éligibilité. Certains exemples de ces critères sont l'état de santé général d'une personne ou des traitements antérieurs.

Critère d'éligibilité

Âges éligibles pour étudier

18 ans et plus (Adulte, Adulte plus âgé)

Accepte les volontaires sains

Non

Sexes éligibles pour l'étude

Femelle

La description

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed breast cancer

    • Stage IIIA or IIIB disease (T3 N1 M0, T4 N1 M0, any T N2/N3 M0)
  • Bidimensionally measurable or evaluable disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000 cells/μL
  • Total bilirubin normal
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 8.0 g/dL
  • ANC ≥ 1,000 cells/μL
  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min and serum creatinine normal
  • Life expectancy ≥ 3 months
  • No uncontrolled infection
  • No chronic debilitating disease
  • No lack of physical integrity of the upper gastrointestinal tract
  • Able to swallow tablets
  • No malabsorption syndrome
  • No clinically significant cardiac disease not well controlled with medication (e.g., congestive heart failure, symptomatic coronary artery disease and cardiac arrhythmias [New York Heart Association class III-IV heart disease] or myocardial infarction within the last 12 months)
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except for adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or adequately treated other noninvasive carcinomas
  • No peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 1

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • More than 4 weeks since prior major surgery and recovered
  • No prior chemotherapy regimens including adjuvant therapy
  • No organ allograft
  • No concurrent sorivudine or bruvidine
  • No other concurrent cytostatic, cytotoxic, immunomodulating agents, or radiotherapy

Plan d'étude

Cette section fournit des détails sur le plan d'étude, y compris la façon dont l'étude est conçue et ce que l'étude mesure.

Comment l'étude est-elle conçue ?

Détails de conception

  • Objectif principal: Traitement
  • Masquage: Aucun (étiquette ouverte)

Que mesure l'étude ?

Principaux critères de jugement

Mesure des résultats
Pathologic response rate
Toxicity patterns

Mesures de résultats secondaires

Mesure des résultats
La survie globale

Collaborateurs et enquêteurs

C'est ici que vous trouverez les personnes et les organisations impliquées dans cette étude.

Parrainer

Les enquêteurs

  • Chercheur principal: James N. Ingle, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • Chaise d'étude: Julian R. Molina, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic
  • Chercheur principal: Wilma Lingle, PhD, Mayo Clinic

Dates d'enregistrement des études

Ces dates suivent la progression des dossiers d'étude et des soumissions de résultats sommaires à ClinicalTrials.gov. Les dossiers d'étude et les résultats rapportés sont examinés par la Bibliothèque nationale de médecine (NLM) pour s'assurer qu'ils répondent à des normes de contrôle de qualité spécifiques avant d'être publiés sur le site Web public.

Dates principales de l'étude

Début de l'étude

1 avril 2003

Achèvement primaire (Réel)

1 mars 2006

Achèvement de l'étude (Réel)

1 mars 2006

Dates d'inscription aux études

Première soumission

27 mars 2008

Première soumission répondant aux critères de contrôle qualité

27 mars 2008

Première publication (Estimation)

28 mars 2008

Mises à jour des dossiers d'étude

Dernière mise à jour publiée (Estimation)

16 mai 2011

Dernière mise à jour soumise répondant aux critères de contrôle qualité

13 mai 2011

Dernière vérification

1 mai 2011

Plus d'information

Termes liés à cette étude

Autres numéros d'identification d'étude

  • CDR0000582618
  • P30CA015083 (Subvention/contrat des NIH des États-Unis)
  • MC0132 (Autre identifiant: Mayo Clinic Cancer Center)
  • 595-02 (Autre identifiant: Mayo Clinic IRB)
  • 378-ONC-0030-241 (Autre identifiant: Pharmacia Protocol)

Ces informations ont été extraites directement du site Web clinicaltrials.gov sans aucune modification. Si vous avez des demandes de modification, de suppression ou de mise à jour des détails de votre étude, veuillez contacter register@clinicaltrials.gov. Dès qu'un changement est mis en œuvre sur clinicaltrials.gov, il sera également mis à jour automatiquement sur notre site Web .

S'abonner