Tato stránka byla automaticky přeložena a přesnost překladu není zaručena. Podívejte se prosím na anglická verze pro zdrojový text.

Letrozole in Preventing Breast Cancer in Postmenopausal Women (WISE)

5. března 2018 aktualizováno: Judy E. Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

A Pilot Study of Aromatase Inhibitors for Women at Increased Risk of Breast Cancer Based on Estradiol Levels

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Letrozole may be effective in preventing the development or recurrence of breast cancer in postmenopausal women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer because of elevated estradiol levels.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well letrozole works in preventing breast cancer in postmenopausal women with elevated estradiol levels.

Přehled studie

Postavení

Dokončeno

Podmínky

Detailní popis

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • The primary outcome of the study is the change in bone mineral density following a year on letrozole vs. a year on placebo.

Secondary

  • Compare the safety, acceptability, and adherence to letrozole vs placebo in postmenopausal women at increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer based on elevated plasma estradiol levels through evaluation of menopausal symptoms (including hot flushes, weight changes, sexual functioning, and genitourinary effects), blood lipid levels, markers of bone turnover, and multidimensional quality of life.
  • Determine the effect of letrozole-induced reduction of plasma estradiol levels on mammographic percent breast density.
  • Obtain background information for a future large chemoprevention trial to address the question of whether a reduction in plasma estradiol levels can reduce the risk of breast cancer in postmenopausal women.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 2:1 (experimental treatment: placebo arms).

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients (73 for arm I and 37 for arm II) will be accrued for this study.

Typ studie

Intervenční

Zápis (Aktuální)

49

Fáze

  • Fáze 2

Kontakty a umístění

Tato část poskytuje kontaktní údaje pro ty, kteří studii provádějí, a informace o tom, kde se tato studie provádí.

Studijní místa

    • Massachusetts
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Spojené státy, 02215
        • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Spojené státy, 02114
        • Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Spojené státy, 02115
        • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    • Pennsylvania
      • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Spojené státy, 19104-4283
        • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Texas
      • Houston, Texas, Spojené státy, 77030
        • Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine

Kritéria účasti

Výzkumníci hledají lidi, kteří odpovídají určitému popisu, kterému se říká kritéria způsobilosti. Některé příklady těchto kritérií jsou celkový zdravotní stav osoby nebo předchozí léčba.

Kritéria způsobilosti

Věk způsobilý ke studiu

35 let až 120 let (Dospělý, Starší dospělý)

Přijímá zdravé dobrovolníky

Ne

Pohlaví způsobilá ke studiu

Ženský

Popis

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • At increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer, defined as an estradiol level ≥ 9 pg/mL
  • No evidence of suspicious or malignant disease, based on the following examinations:

    • Clinical bilateral breast examination within the past 6 months
    • Bilateral* mammogram within 3 months before randomization OR within 30 days after randomization
    • Pelvic exam normal within the past 5 years
    • General physical exam within the past 6 months NOTE: *Unilateral mammogram of the uninvolved breast for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS)
  • Bone density scan within 2 standard deviations from normal within the past 30 days

    • Bone density scan ≥ 2 standard deviations below normal allowed if approved by the study physician
  • At least 1 breast that has not been previously treated with radiotherapy or surgery (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • Hormone receptor status:

    • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 35 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, defined by any of the following criteria:

    • At least 12 months without spontaneous menstrual bleeding
    • Prior hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy
    • ≥ 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy with or without oophorectomy
    • < 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy without oophorectomy OR the status of the ovaries is unknown AND follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) level is in the postmenopausal range

Performance status

  • Normal activity must not be restricted for a significant portion of the day

Life expectancy

  • At least 10 years

Hematopoietic

  • Complete blood count with differential normal

    • Prior benign neutropenia allowed provided the granulocyte count is ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal
  • SGOT and SGPT normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled cardiovascular disease

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No osteoporosis
  • No hyperlipidemia
  • No mental health status resulting in cognitive or emotional impairment that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 30 days since prior AND no concurrent use of any of the following hormonal agents:

    • Estrogen or progesterone replacement therapy
    • Oral contraceptives
    • Raloxifene or other plasma estrogen receptor modulators (SERMs)
    • Androgens (e.g., danazol)
    • Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH) analogs (e.g., goserelin or leuprolide)
    • Prolactin inhibitors (e.g., bromocriptine)
    • Antiandrogens (e.g., cyproterone)
  • More than 60 days since prior AND no concurrent tamoxifen
  • No prior aromatase inhibitors (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • No concurrent phytoestrogenic dietary supplements (e.g., soy, ginseng, or other natural products)

    • Dietary soy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior bilateral mastectomy

Other

  • More than 60 days since prior treatment for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • More than 30 days since prior bisphosphonates or calcitonin
  • No prior or concurrent participation on a treatment study for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • No concurrent participation in any other cancer prevention study or osteoporosis prevention study involving pharmacologic agents
  • No concurrent calcitonin
  • No concurrent bisphosphonate therapy
  • Concurrent cholecalciferol (vitamin D) and calcium to augment bone mineral density allowed

Studijní plán

Tato část poskytuje podrobnosti o studijním plánu, včetně toho, jak je studie navržena a co studie měří.

Jak je studie koncipována?

Detaily designu

  • Primární účel: Prevence
  • Přidělení: Randomizované
  • Intervenční model: Paralelní přiřazení
  • Maskování: Dvojnásobek

Zbraně a zásahy

Skupina účastníků / Arm
Intervence / Léčba
Experimentální: Letrozole
Participants in this arm received 2.5 mg of letrozole per day for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 4 years. Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.
Ostatní jména:
  • Femara
Komparátor placeba: Placebo
Participants in this arm received 1 tablet per day which contained the inert ingredients from the letrozole tablet, for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 5 years of letrozole.Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.

Co je měření studie?

Primární výstupní opatření

Měření výsledku
Popis opatření
Časové okno
Change in Lumbar Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Časové okno: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Femoral Neck Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Časové okno: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Trochanter Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Časové okno: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Hip Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Časové okno: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.

Sekundární výstupní opatření

Měření výsledku
Popis opatření
Časové okno
Worst Grade Hot Flashes
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade hot flashes: 01: mild (<1qd) or 02: moderate (>1qd) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Muscle Aches/Pains
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade muscle aches/pains defined as grade 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3) or 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Nausea
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade nausea grade 01: able to eat, 02: oral intake significantly decreased, 03: no significant intake, requiring IV fluids during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Vomiting
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade vomiting grade 01: 1x in 24 hours, 02: 2-5x in 24 hours, 03: >/= 6x in 24 hours, grade 04: requiring parenteral nutrition/intensive care during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Abdominal Pain
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade abdominal pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Bone Pain
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade bone pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Headache
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade headache: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Fatigue
Časové okno: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade fatigue: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.

Spolupracovníci a vyšetřovatelé

Zde najdete lidi a organizace zapojené do této studie.

Vyšetřovatelé

  • Vrchní vyšetřovatel: Judy Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Vrchní vyšetřovatel: Patricia A. Ganz, MD, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center

Termíny studijních záznamů

Tato data sledují průběh záznamů studie a předkládání souhrnných výsledků na ClinicalTrials.gov. Záznamy ze studií a hlášené výsledky jsou před zveřejněním na veřejné webové stránce přezkoumány Národní lékařskou knihovnou (NLM), aby se ujistily, že splňují specifické standardy kontroly kvality.

Hlavní termíny studia

Začátek studia (Aktuální)

1. února 2002

Primární dokončení (Aktuální)

1. srpna 2008

Dokončení studie (Aktuální)

1. března 2013

Termíny zápisu do studia

První předloženo

7. září 2004

První předloženo, které splnilo kritéria kontroly kvality

7. září 2004

První zveřejněno (Odhad)

8. září 2004

Aktualizace studijních záznamů

Poslední zveřejněná aktualizace (Aktuální)

30. března 2018

Odeslaná poslední aktualizace, která splnila kritéria kontroly kvality

5. března 2018

Naposledy ověřeno

1. března 2018

Více informací

Tyto informace byly beze změn načteny přímo z webu clinicaltrials.gov. Máte-li jakékoli požadavky na změnu, odstranění nebo aktualizaci podrobností studie, kontaktujte prosím register@clinicaltrials.gov. Jakmile bude změna implementována na clinicaltrials.gov, bude automaticky aktualizována i na našem webu .

Předplatit