Questa pagina è stata tradotta automaticamente e l'accuratezza della traduzione non è garantita. Si prega di fare riferimento al Versione inglese per un testo di partenza.

Letrozole in Preventing Breast Cancer in Postmenopausal Women (WISE)

5 marzo 2018 aggiornato da: Judy E. Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

A Pilot Study of Aromatase Inhibitors for Women at Increased Risk of Breast Cancer Based on Estradiol Levels

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Letrozole may be effective in preventing the development or recurrence of breast cancer in postmenopausal women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer because of elevated estradiol levels.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well letrozole works in preventing breast cancer in postmenopausal women with elevated estradiol levels.

Panoramica dello studio

Stato

Completato

Condizioni

Intervento / Trattamento

Descrizione dettagliata

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • The primary outcome of the study is the change in bone mineral density following a year on letrozole vs. a year on placebo.

Secondary

  • Compare the safety, acceptability, and adherence to letrozole vs placebo in postmenopausal women at increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer based on elevated plasma estradiol levels through evaluation of menopausal symptoms (including hot flushes, weight changes, sexual functioning, and genitourinary effects), blood lipid levels, markers of bone turnover, and multidimensional quality of life.
  • Determine the effect of letrozole-induced reduction of plasma estradiol levels on mammographic percent breast density.
  • Obtain background information for a future large chemoprevention trial to address the question of whether a reduction in plasma estradiol levels can reduce the risk of breast cancer in postmenopausal women.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 2:1 (experimental treatment: placebo arms).

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients (73 for arm I and 37 for arm II) will be accrued for this study.

Tipo di studio

Interventistico

Iscrizione (Effettivo)

49

Fase

  • Fase 2

Contatti e Sedi

Questa sezione fornisce i recapiti di coloro che conducono lo studio e informazioni su dove viene condotto lo studio.

Luoghi di studio

    • Massachusetts
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Stati Uniti, 02215
        • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Stati Uniti, 02114
        • Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Stati Uniti, 02115
        • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    • Pennsylvania
      • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Stati Uniti, 19104-4283
        • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Texas
      • Houston, Texas, Stati Uniti, 77030
        • Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine

Criteri di partecipazione

I ricercatori cercano persone che corrispondano a una certa descrizione, chiamata criteri di ammissibilità. Alcuni esempi di questi criteri sono le condizioni generali di salute di una persona o trattamenti precedenti.

Criteri di ammissibilità

Età idonea allo studio

Da 35 anni a 120 anni (Adulto, Adulto più anziano)

Accetta volontari sani

No

Sessi ammissibili allo studio

Femmina

Descrizione

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • At increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer, defined as an estradiol level ≥ 9 pg/mL
  • No evidence of suspicious or malignant disease, based on the following examinations:

    • Clinical bilateral breast examination within the past 6 months
    • Bilateral* mammogram within 3 months before randomization OR within 30 days after randomization
    • Pelvic exam normal within the past 5 years
    • General physical exam within the past 6 months NOTE: *Unilateral mammogram of the uninvolved breast for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS)
  • Bone density scan within 2 standard deviations from normal within the past 30 days

    • Bone density scan ≥ 2 standard deviations below normal allowed if approved by the study physician
  • At least 1 breast that has not been previously treated with radiotherapy or surgery (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • Hormone receptor status:

    • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 35 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, defined by any of the following criteria:

    • At least 12 months without spontaneous menstrual bleeding
    • Prior hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy
    • ≥ 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy with or without oophorectomy
    • < 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy without oophorectomy OR the status of the ovaries is unknown AND follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) level is in the postmenopausal range

Performance status

  • Normal activity must not be restricted for a significant portion of the day

Life expectancy

  • At least 10 years

Hematopoietic

  • Complete blood count with differential normal

    • Prior benign neutropenia allowed provided the granulocyte count is ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal
  • SGOT and SGPT normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled cardiovascular disease

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No osteoporosis
  • No hyperlipidemia
  • No mental health status resulting in cognitive or emotional impairment that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 30 days since prior AND no concurrent use of any of the following hormonal agents:

    • Estrogen or progesterone replacement therapy
    • Oral contraceptives
    • Raloxifene or other plasma estrogen receptor modulators (SERMs)
    • Androgens (e.g., danazol)
    • Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH) analogs (e.g., goserelin or leuprolide)
    • Prolactin inhibitors (e.g., bromocriptine)
    • Antiandrogens (e.g., cyproterone)
  • More than 60 days since prior AND no concurrent tamoxifen
  • No prior aromatase inhibitors (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • No concurrent phytoestrogenic dietary supplements (e.g., soy, ginseng, or other natural products)

    • Dietary soy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior bilateral mastectomy

Other

  • More than 60 days since prior treatment for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • More than 30 days since prior bisphosphonates or calcitonin
  • No prior or concurrent participation on a treatment study for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • No concurrent participation in any other cancer prevention study or osteoporosis prevention study involving pharmacologic agents
  • No concurrent calcitonin
  • No concurrent bisphosphonate therapy
  • Concurrent cholecalciferol (vitamin D) and calcium to augment bone mineral density allowed

Piano di studio

Questa sezione fornisce i dettagli del piano di studio, compreso il modo in cui lo studio è progettato e ciò che lo studio sta misurando.

Come è strutturato lo studio?

Dettagli di progettazione

  • Scopo principale: Prevenzione
  • Assegnazione: Randomizzato
  • Modello interventistico: Assegnazione parallela
  • Mascheramento: Doppio

Armi e interventi

Gruppo di partecipanti / Arm
Intervento / Trattamento
Sperimentale: Letrozole
Participants in this arm received 2.5 mg of letrozole per day for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 4 years. Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.
Altri nomi:
  • Femara
Comparatore placebo: Placebo
Participants in this arm received 1 tablet per day which contained the inert ingredients from the letrozole tablet, for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 5 years of letrozole.Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.

Cosa sta misurando lo studio?

Misure di risultato primarie

Misura del risultato
Misura Descrizione
Lasso di tempo
Change in Lumbar Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Lasso di tempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Femoral Neck Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Lasso di tempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Trochanter Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Lasso di tempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Hip Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Lasso di tempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.

Misure di risultato secondarie

Misura del risultato
Misura Descrizione
Lasso di tempo
Worst Grade Hot Flashes
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade hot flashes: 01: mild (<1qd) or 02: moderate (>1qd) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Muscle Aches/Pains
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade muscle aches/pains defined as grade 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3) or 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Nausea
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade nausea grade 01: able to eat, 02: oral intake significantly decreased, 03: no significant intake, requiring IV fluids during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Vomiting
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade vomiting grade 01: 1x in 24 hours, 02: 2-5x in 24 hours, 03: >/= 6x in 24 hours, grade 04: requiring parenteral nutrition/intensive care during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Abdominal Pain
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade abdominal pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Bone Pain
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade bone pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Headache
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade headache: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Fatigue
Lasso di tempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade fatigue: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.

Collaboratori e investigatori

Qui è dove troverai le persone e le organizzazioni coinvolte in questo studio.

Investigatori

  • Investigatore principale: Judy Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Investigatore principale: Patricia A. Ganz, MD, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center

Studiare le date dei record

Queste date tengono traccia dell'avanzamento della registrazione dello studio e dell'invio dei risultati di sintesi a ClinicalTrials.gov. I record degli studi e i risultati riportati vengono esaminati dalla National Library of Medicine (NLM) per assicurarsi che soddisfino specifici standard di controllo della qualità prima di essere pubblicati sul sito Web pubblico.

Studia le date principali

Inizio studio (Effettivo)

1 febbraio 2002

Completamento primario (Effettivo)

1 agosto 2008

Completamento dello studio (Effettivo)

1 marzo 2013

Date di iscrizione allo studio

Primo inviato

7 settembre 2004

Primo inviato che soddisfa i criteri di controllo qualità

7 settembre 2004

Primo Inserito (Stima)

8 settembre 2004

Aggiornamenti dei record di studio

Ultimo aggiornamento pubblicato (Effettivo)

30 marzo 2018

Ultimo aggiornamento inviato che soddisfa i criteri QC

5 marzo 2018

Ultimo verificato

1 marzo 2018

Maggiori informazioni

Queste informazioni sono state recuperate direttamente dal sito web clinicaltrials.gov senza alcuna modifica. In caso di richieste di modifica, rimozione o aggiornamento dei dettagli dello studio, contattare register@clinicaltrials.gov. Non appena verrà implementata una modifica su clinicaltrials.gov, questa verrà aggiornata automaticamente anche sul nostro sito web .

Sottoscrivi