Esta página se tradujo automáticamente y no se garantiza la precisión de la traducción. por favor refiérase a versión inglesa para un texto fuente.

Letrozole in Preventing Breast Cancer in Postmenopausal Women (WISE)

5 de marzo de 2018 actualizado por: Judy E. Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

A Pilot Study of Aromatase Inhibitors for Women at Increased Risk of Breast Cancer Based on Estradiol Levels

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Letrozole may be effective in preventing the development or recurrence of breast cancer in postmenopausal women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer because of elevated estradiol levels.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well letrozole works in preventing breast cancer in postmenopausal women with elevated estradiol levels.

Descripción general del estudio

Estado

Terminado

Condiciones

Intervención / Tratamiento

Descripción detallada

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • The primary outcome of the study is the change in bone mineral density following a year on letrozole vs. a year on placebo.

Secondary

  • Compare the safety, acceptability, and adherence to letrozole vs placebo in postmenopausal women at increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer based on elevated plasma estradiol levels through evaluation of menopausal symptoms (including hot flushes, weight changes, sexual functioning, and genitourinary effects), blood lipid levels, markers of bone turnover, and multidimensional quality of life.
  • Determine the effect of letrozole-induced reduction of plasma estradiol levels on mammographic percent breast density.
  • Obtain background information for a future large chemoprevention trial to address the question of whether a reduction in plasma estradiol levels can reduce the risk of breast cancer in postmenopausal women.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 2:1 (experimental treatment: placebo arms).

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients (73 for arm I and 37 for arm II) will be accrued for this study.

Tipo de estudio

Intervencionista

Inscripción (Actual)

49

Fase

  • Fase 2

Contactos y Ubicaciones

Esta sección proporciona los datos de contacto de quienes realizan el estudio e información sobre dónde se lleva a cabo este estudio.

Ubicaciones de estudio

    • Massachusetts
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Estados Unidos, 02215
        • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Estados Unidos, 02114
        • Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Estados Unidos, 02115
        • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    • Pennsylvania
      • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Estados Unidos, 19104-4283
        • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Texas
      • Houston, Texas, Estados Unidos, 77030
        • Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine

Criterios de participación

Los investigadores buscan personas que se ajusten a una determinada descripción, denominada criterio de elegibilidad. Algunos ejemplos de estos criterios son el estado de salud general de una persona o tratamientos previos.

Criterio de elegibilidad

Edades elegibles para estudiar

35 años a 120 años (Adulto, Adulto Mayor)

Acepta Voluntarios Saludables

No

Géneros elegibles para el estudio

Femenino

Descripción

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • At increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer, defined as an estradiol level ≥ 9 pg/mL
  • No evidence of suspicious or malignant disease, based on the following examinations:

    • Clinical bilateral breast examination within the past 6 months
    • Bilateral* mammogram within 3 months before randomization OR within 30 days after randomization
    • Pelvic exam normal within the past 5 years
    • General physical exam within the past 6 months NOTE: *Unilateral mammogram of the uninvolved breast for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS)
  • Bone density scan within 2 standard deviations from normal within the past 30 days

    • Bone density scan ≥ 2 standard deviations below normal allowed if approved by the study physician
  • At least 1 breast that has not been previously treated with radiotherapy or surgery (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • Hormone receptor status:

    • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 35 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, defined by any of the following criteria:

    • At least 12 months without spontaneous menstrual bleeding
    • Prior hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy
    • ≥ 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy with or without oophorectomy
    • < 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy without oophorectomy OR the status of the ovaries is unknown AND follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) level is in the postmenopausal range

Performance status

  • Normal activity must not be restricted for a significant portion of the day

Life expectancy

  • At least 10 years

Hematopoietic

  • Complete blood count with differential normal

    • Prior benign neutropenia allowed provided the granulocyte count is ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal
  • SGOT and SGPT normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled cardiovascular disease

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No osteoporosis
  • No hyperlipidemia
  • No mental health status resulting in cognitive or emotional impairment that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 30 days since prior AND no concurrent use of any of the following hormonal agents:

    • Estrogen or progesterone replacement therapy
    • Oral contraceptives
    • Raloxifene or other plasma estrogen receptor modulators (SERMs)
    • Androgens (e.g., danazol)
    • Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH) analogs (e.g., goserelin or leuprolide)
    • Prolactin inhibitors (e.g., bromocriptine)
    • Antiandrogens (e.g., cyproterone)
  • More than 60 days since prior AND no concurrent tamoxifen
  • No prior aromatase inhibitors (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • No concurrent phytoestrogenic dietary supplements (e.g., soy, ginseng, or other natural products)

    • Dietary soy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior bilateral mastectomy

Other

  • More than 60 days since prior treatment for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • More than 30 days since prior bisphosphonates or calcitonin
  • No prior or concurrent participation on a treatment study for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • No concurrent participation in any other cancer prevention study or osteoporosis prevention study involving pharmacologic agents
  • No concurrent calcitonin
  • No concurrent bisphosphonate therapy
  • Concurrent cholecalciferol (vitamin D) and calcium to augment bone mineral density allowed

Plan de estudios

Esta sección proporciona detalles del plan de estudio, incluido cómo está diseñado el estudio y qué mide el estudio.

¿Cómo está diseñado el estudio?

Detalles de diseño

  • Propósito principal: Prevención
  • Asignación: Aleatorizado
  • Modelo Intervencionista: Asignación paralela
  • Enmascaramiento: Doble

Armas e Intervenciones

Grupo de participantes/brazo
Intervención / Tratamiento
Experimental: Letrozole
Participants in this arm received 2.5 mg of letrozole per day for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 4 years. Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.
Otros nombres:
  • Fémara
Comparador de placebos: Placebo
Participants in this arm received 1 tablet per day which contained the inert ingredients from the letrozole tablet, for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 5 years of letrozole.Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.

¿Qué mide el estudio?

Medidas de resultado primarias

Medida de resultado
Medida Descripción
Periodo de tiempo
Change in Lumbar Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Periodo de tiempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Femoral Neck Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Periodo de tiempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Trochanter Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Periodo de tiempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Hip Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Periodo de tiempo: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.

Medidas de resultado secundarias

Medida de resultado
Medida Descripción
Periodo de tiempo
Worst Grade Hot Flashes
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade hot flashes: 01: mild (<1qd) or 02: moderate (>1qd) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Muscle Aches/Pains
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade muscle aches/pains defined as grade 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3) or 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Nausea
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade nausea grade 01: able to eat, 02: oral intake significantly decreased, 03: no significant intake, requiring IV fluids during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Vomiting
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade vomiting grade 01: 1x in 24 hours, 02: 2-5x in 24 hours, 03: >/= 6x in 24 hours, grade 04: requiring parenteral nutrition/intensive care during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Abdominal Pain
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade abdominal pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Bone Pain
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade bone pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Headache
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade headache: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Fatigue
Periodo de tiempo: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade fatigue: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.

Colaboradores e Investigadores

Aquí es donde encontrará personas y organizaciones involucradas en este estudio.

Investigadores

  • Investigador principal: Judy Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Investigador principal: Patricia A. Ganz, MD, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center

Fechas de registro del estudio

Estas fechas rastrean el progreso del registro del estudio y los envíos de resultados resumidos a ClinicalTrials.gov. Los registros del estudio y los resultados informados son revisados ​​por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina (NLM) para asegurarse de que cumplan con los estándares de control de calidad específicos antes de publicarlos en el sitio web público.

Fechas importantes del estudio

Inicio del estudio (Actual)

1 de febrero de 2002

Finalización primaria (Actual)

1 de agosto de 2008

Finalización del estudio (Actual)

1 de marzo de 2013

Fechas de registro del estudio

Enviado por primera vez

7 de septiembre de 2004

Primero enviado que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad

7 de septiembre de 2004

Publicado por primera vez (Estimar)

8 de septiembre de 2004

Actualizaciones de registros de estudio

Última actualización publicada (Actual)

30 de marzo de 2018

Última actualización enviada que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad

5 de marzo de 2018

Última verificación

1 de marzo de 2018

Más información

Esta información se obtuvo directamente del sitio web clinicaltrials.gov sin cambios. Si tiene alguna solicitud para cambiar, eliminar o actualizar los detalles de su estudio, comuníquese con register@clinicaltrials.gov. Tan pronto como se implemente un cambio en clinicaltrials.gov, también se actualizará automáticamente en nuestro sitio web. .

Suscribir