Diese Seite wurde automatisch übersetzt und die Genauigkeit der Übersetzung wird nicht garantiert. Bitte wende dich an die englische Version für einen Quelltext.

Letrozole in Preventing Breast Cancer in Postmenopausal Women (WISE)

5. März 2018 aktualisiert von: Judy E. Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

A Pilot Study of Aromatase Inhibitors for Women at Increased Risk of Breast Cancer Based on Estradiol Levels

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Letrozole may be effective in preventing the development or recurrence of breast cancer in postmenopausal women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer because of elevated estradiol levels.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well letrozole works in preventing breast cancer in postmenopausal women with elevated estradiol levels.

Studienübersicht

Status

Abgeschlossen

Bedingungen

Detaillierte Beschreibung

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • The primary outcome of the study is the change in bone mineral density following a year on letrozole vs. a year on placebo.

Secondary

  • Compare the safety, acceptability, and adherence to letrozole vs placebo in postmenopausal women at increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer based on elevated plasma estradiol levels through evaluation of menopausal symptoms (including hot flushes, weight changes, sexual functioning, and genitourinary effects), blood lipid levels, markers of bone turnover, and multidimensional quality of life.
  • Determine the effect of letrozole-induced reduction of plasma estradiol levels on mammographic percent breast density.
  • Obtain background information for a future large chemoprevention trial to address the question of whether a reduction in plasma estradiol levels can reduce the risk of breast cancer in postmenopausal women.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 2:1 (experimental treatment: placebo arms).

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients (73 for arm I and 37 for arm II) will be accrued for this study.

Studientyp

Interventionell

Einschreibung (Tatsächlich)

49

Phase

  • Phase 2

Kontakte und Standorte

Dieser Abschnitt enthält die Kontaktdaten derjenigen, die die Studie durchführen, und Informationen darüber, wo diese Studie durchgeführt wird.

Studienorte

    • Massachusetts
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Vereinigte Staaten, 02215
        • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Vereinigte Staaten, 02114
        • Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Boston, Massachusetts, Vereinigte Staaten, 02115
        • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    • Pennsylvania
      • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Vereinigte Staaten, 19104-4283
        • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Texas
      • Houston, Texas, Vereinigte Staaten, 77030
        • Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine

Teilnahmekriterien

Forscher suchen nach Personen, die einer bestimmten Beschreibung entsprechen, die als Auswahlkriterien bezeichnet werden. Einige Beispiele für diese Kriterien sind der allgemeine Gesundheitszustand einer Person oder frühere Behandlungen.

Zulassungskriterien

Studienberechtigtes Alter

35 Jahre bis 120 Jahre (Erwachsene, Älterer Erwachsener)

Akzeptiert gesunde Freiwillige

Nein

Studienberechtigte Geschlechter

Weiblich

Beschreibung

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • At increased risk for the development or recurrence of breast cancer, defined as an estradiol level ≥ 9 pg/mL
  • No evidence of suspicious or malignant disease, based on the following examinations:

    • Clinical bilateral breast examination within the past 6 months
    • Bilateral* mammogram within 3 months before randomization OR within 30 days after randomization
    • Pelvic exam normal within the past 5 years
    • General physical exam within the past 6 months NOTE: *Unilateral mammogram of the uninvolved breast for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS)
  • Bone density scan within 2 standard deviations from normal within the past 30 days

    • Bone density scan ≥ 2 standard deviations below normal allowed if approved by the study physician
  • At least 1 breast that has not been previously treated with radiotherapy or surgery (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • Hormone receptor status:

    • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 35 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, defined by any of the following criteria:

    • At least 12 months without spontaneous menstrual bleeding
    • Prior hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy
    • ≥ 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy with or without oophorectomy
    • < 55 years of age with a prior hysterectomy without oophorectomy OR the status of the ovaries is unknown AND follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) level is in the postmenopausal range

Performance status

  • Normal activity must not be restricted for a significant portion of the day

Life expectancy

  • At least 10 years

Hematopoietic

  • Complete blood count with differential normal

    • Prior benign neutropenia allowed provided the granulocyte count is ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal
  • SGOT and SGPT normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled cardiovascular disease

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No osteoporosis
  • No hyperlipidemia
  • No mental health status resulting in cognitive or emotional impairment that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 30 days since prior AND no concurrent use of any of the following hormonal agents:

    • Estrogen or progesterone replacement therapy
    • Oral contraceptives
    • Raloxifene or other plasma estrogen receptor modulators (SERMs)
    • Androgens (e.g., danazol)
    • Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LHRH) analogs (e.g., goserelin or leuprolide)
    • Prolactin inhibitors (e.g., bromocriptine)
    • Antiandrogens (e.g., cyproterone)
  • More than 60 days since prior AND no concurrent tamoxifen
  • No prior aromatase inhibitors (for patients with prior invasive breast cancer or DCIS)
  • No concurrent phytoestrogenic dietary supplements (e.g., soy, ginseng, or other natural products)

    • Dietary soy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior bilateral mastectomy

Other

  • More than 60 days since prior treatment for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • More than 30 days since prior bisphosphonates or calcitonin
  • No prior or concurrent participation on a treatment study for invasive breast cancer or DCIS
  • No concurrent participation in any other cancer prevention study or osteoporosis prevention study involving pharmacologic agents
  • No concurrent calcitonin
  • No concurrent bisphosphonate therapy
  • Concurrent cholecalciferol (vitamin D) and calcium to augment bone mineral density allowed

Studienplan

Dieser Abschnitt enthält Einzelheiten zum Studienplan, einschließlich des Studiendesigns und der Messung der Studieninhalte.

Wie ist die Studie aufgebaut?

Designdetails

  • Hauptzweck: Verhütung
  • Zuteilung: Zufällig
  • Interventionsmodell: Parallele Zuordnung
  • Maskierung: Doppelt

Waffen und Interventionen

Teilnehmergruppe / Arm
Intervention / Behandlung
Experimental: Letrozole
Participants in this arm received 2.5 mg of letrozole per day for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 4 years. Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.
Andere Namen:
  • Femara
Placebo-Komparator: Placebo
Participants in this arm received 1 tablet per day which contained the inert ingredients from the letrozole tablet, for a duration of 12 months; followed by an optional 5 years of letrozole.Treatment continued in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of invasive breast cancer, ductal carcinoma in situ, or any non-breast primary cancer.

Was misst die Studie?

Primäre Ergebnismessungen

Ergebnis Maßnahme
Maßnahmenbeschreibung
Zeitfenster
Change in Lumbar Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Zeitfenster: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Femoral Neck Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Zeitfenster: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Trochanter Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Zeitfenster: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
Change in Hip Density From Baseline to 12 Months
Zeitfenster: Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.
The bone mineral density (BMD) test was comprised of the following 4 measurements [total density (g/cm^2)]: lumbar, femoral neck, trochanter, hip.
Evaluation occurred at treatment initiation (BL) and after 12-months of treatment.

Sekundäre Ergebnismessungen

Ergebnis Maßnahme
Maßnahmenbeschreibung
Zeitfenster
Worst Grade Hot Flashes
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade hot flashes: 01: mild (<1qd) or 02: moderate (>1qd) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Muscle Aches/Pains
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade muscle aches/pains defined as grade 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3) or 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Nausea
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade nausea grade 01: able to eat, 02: oral intake significantly decreased, 03: no significant intake, requiring IV fluids during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Vomiting
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade vomiting grade 01: 1x in 24 hours, 02: 2-5x in 24 hours, 03: >/= 6x in 24 hours, grade 04: requiring parenteral nutrition/intensive care during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Abdominal Pain
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade abdominal pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Bone Pain
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade bone pain: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Headache
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade headache: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Worst Grade Fatigue
Zeitfenster: Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.
Participants reported worst grade fatigue: 01: mild, 02: moderate, 03: severe (CTCAEv3), 04: disabling (CTCAEv3) during 12 months of treatment.
Heath assessments during treatment were administered at 3- and 9-months by telephone contact and during clinic visits at 6- and12-months.

Mitarbeiter und Ermittler

Hier finden Sie Personen und Organisationen, die an dieser Studie beteiligt sind.

Ermittler

  • Hauptermittler: Judy Garber, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Hauptermittler: Patricia A. Ganz, MD, Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center

Studienaufzeichnungsdaten

Diese Daten verfolgen den Fortschritt der Übermittlung von Studienaufzeichnungen und zusammenfassenden Ergebnissen an ClinicalTrials.gov. Studienaufzeichnungen und gemeldete Ergebnisse werden von der National Library of Medicine (NLM) überprüft, um sicherzustellen, dass sie bestimmten Qualitätskontrollstandards entsprechen, bevor sie auf der öffentlichen Website veröffentlicht werden.

Haupttermine studieren

Studienbeginn (Tatsächlich)

1. Februar 2002

Primärer Abschluss (Tatsächlich)

1. August 2008

Studienabschluss (Tatsächlich)

1. März 2013

Studienanmeldedaten

Zuerst eingereicht

7. September 2004

Zuerst eingereicht, das die QC-Kriterien erfüllt hat

7. September 2004

Zuerst gepostet (Schätzen)

8. September 2004

Studienaufzeichnungsaktualisierungen

Letztes Update gepostet (Tatsächlich)

30. März 2018

Letztes eingereichtes Update, das die QC-Kriterien erfüllt

5. März 2018

Zuletzt verifiziert

1. März 2018

Mehr Informationen

Diese Informationen wurden ohne Änderungen direkt von der Website clinicaltrials.gov abgerufen. Wenn Sie Ihre Studiendaten ändern, entfernen oder aktualisieren möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an register@clinicaltrials.gov. Sobald eine Änderung auf clinicaltrials.gov implementiert wird, wird diese automatisch auch auf unserer Website aktualisiert .

Abonnieren