Esta página foi traduzida automaticamente e a precisão da tradução não é garantida. Por favor, consulte o versão em inglês para um texto fonte.

Radiation Therapy Plus Doxorubicin in Treating Patients With Resectable Primary or Recurrent Retroperitoneal Soft Tissue Sarcoma

27 de julho de 2012 atualizado por: M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

A Phase I Study of Preoperative Chemoradiation and Intraoperative Radiation Therapy in the Treatment of Retroperitoneal Sarcoma

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy plus doxorubicin in treating patients who have resectable primary or recurrent peritoneal soft tissue sarcoma.

Visão geral do estudo

Descrição detalhada

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity and maximum tolerated dose of preoperative external beam radiotherapy when combined with doxorubicin and followed by intraoperative radiotherapy in patients with resectable primary or recurrent soft tissue sarcoma of the retroperitoneum. II. Assess radiologic and pathologic response in patients treated with this preoperative regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of external beam radiotherapy. Patients receive doxorubicin IV bolus followed immediately by doxorubicin IV over 4 days every week for 5 weeks concurrently with external beam radiotherapy 5 days a week for 4 weeks. Patients with stable or responding disease undergo surgical resection of primary tumor and all adjacent gross disease approximately 6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy. Patients receive intraoperative radiotherapy (IORT) to the tumor bed if all gross disease has been resected and if the area of maximal tumor adherence to the retroperitoneum can be encompassed within a single IORT field (maximum 15 cm). Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of external beam radiotherapy until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which 30% of patients experience grade 3 or worse dose-limiting toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-45 patients will be accrued for this study.

Tipo de estudo

Intervencional

Inscrição (Real)

36

Estágio

  • Fase 1

Contactos e Locais

Esta seção fornece os detalhes de contato para aqueles que conduzem o estudo e informações sobre onde este estudo está sendo realizado.

Locais de estudo

    • Texas
      • Houston, Texas, Estados Unidos, 77030-4009
        • University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

Critérios de participação

Os pesquisadores procuram pessoas que se encaixem em uma determinada descrição, chamada de critérios de elegibilidade. Alguns exemplos desses critérios são a condição geral de saúde de uma pessoa ou tratamentos anteriores.

Critérios de elegibilidade

Idades elegíveis para estudo

18 anos e mais velhos (Adulto, Adulto mais velho)

Aceita Voluntários Saudáveis

Não

Gêneros Elegíveis para o Estudo

Tudo

Descrição

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically proven resectable primary or recurrent soft tissue sarcoma of the retroperitoneum Greatest dimension of the 3-dimensional assessment of tumor size must be 5-35 cm Grade 2 or 3, including dedifferentiated liposarcoma and retroperitoneal recurrences of gastrointestinal leiomyosarcoma

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Karnofsky 70-100% Zubrod 0 or 1 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count greater than 2,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Renal function normal Creatinine less than 1.6 mg/dL Gastrointestinal: Must maintain adequate oral nutrition (90-100% of estimated need for calories and protein) and be free of nausea and vomiting prior to radiotherapy (feeding tube allowed) Other: Prior malignancy allowed at the discretion of the protocol investigator No other serious uncontrolled medical condition Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: Not specified Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior abdominal radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Plano de estudo

Esta seção fornece detalhes do plano de estudo, incluindo como o estudo é projetado e o que o estudo está medindo.

Como o estudo é projetado?

Detalhes do projeto

  • Finalidade Principal: Tratamento
  • Alocação: Não randomizado
  • Modelo Intervencional: Atribuição de grupo único
  • Mascaramento: Nenhum (rótulo aberto)

Armas e Intervenções

Grupo de Participantes / Braço
Intervenção / Tratamento
Experimental: RT + DOX + IORT
Preoperative external beam radiotherapy (RT) combined with doxorubicin (DOX) and followed by intraoperative radiotherapy (IORT); dose-escalation study of external beam radiotherapy.
Doxorubicin IV bolus followed immediately by IV over 4 days every week for 5 weeks concurrently with external beam radiotherapy 5 days a week for 4 weeks.
Outros nomes:
  • Adriamicina
  • Rubex
Surgical resection of primary tumor and all adjacent gross disease approximately 6 weeks after chemoradiotherapy
Intraoperative radiotherapy (IORT) to tumor bed if all gross disease has been resected and if area of maximal tumor adherence to retroperitoneum can be encompassed within a single IORT field (maximum 15 cm).
5 days a week for 4 weeks
Outros nomes:
  • RT
  • Radioterapia

O que o estudo está medindo?

Medidas de resultados primários

Medida de resultado
Descrição da medida
Prazo
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Preoperative External Beam Radiotherapy, Doxorubicin + Intraoperative Radiotherapy
Prazo: 6 weeks
The MTD is defined as the dose at which 30% of patients experience grade 3 or worse dose-limiting toxicity
6 weeks

Colaboradores e Investigadores

É aqui que você encontrará pessoas e organizações envolvidas com este estudo.

Investigadores

  • Cadeira de estudo: Peter W. Pisters, MD, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Publicações e links úteis

A pessoa responsável por inserir informações sobre o estudo fornece voluntariamente essas publicações. Estes podem ser sobre qualquer coisa relacionada ao estudo.

Datas de registro do estudo

Essas datas acompanham o progresso do registro do estudo e os envios de resumo dos resultados para ClinicalTrials.gov. Os registros do estudo e os resultados relatados são revisados ​​pela National Library of Medicine (NLM) para garantir que atendam aos padrões específicos de controle de qualidade antes de serem publicados no site público.

Datas Principais do Estudo

Início do estudo

1 de julho de 1997

Conclusão Primária (Real)

1 de julho de 2001

Conclusão do estudo (Real)

1 de outubro de 2009

Datas de inscrição no estudo

Enviado pela primeira vez

10 de dezembro de 1999

Enviado pela primeira vez que atendeu aos critérios de CQ

22 de março de 2004

Primeira postagem (Estimativa)

23 de março de 2004

Atualizações de registro de estudo

Última Atualização Postada (Estimativa)

30 de julho de 2012

Última atualização enviada que atendeu aos critérios de controle de qualidade

27 de julho de 2012

Última verificação

1 de julho de 2012

Mais Informações

Termos relacionados a este estudo

Essas informações foram obtidas diretamente do site clinicaltrials.gov sem nenhuma alteração. Se você tiver alguma solicitação para alterar, remover ou atualizar os detalhes do seu estudo, entre em contato com register@clinicaltrials.gov. Assim que uma alteração for implementada em clinicaltrials.gov, ela também será atualizada automaticamente em nosso site .

Se inscrever