Ta strona została przetłumaczona automatycznie i dokładność tłumaczenia nie jest gwarantowana. Proszę odnieść się do angielska wersja za tekst źródłowy.

Liposomal Doxorubicin Before Mastectomy in Treating Women With Invasive Breast Cancer

7 października 2013 zaktualizowane przez: Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

A Phase I Study Assessing the Feasibility and Safety of Intraductal Administration of Pegylated Liposomal Doxorubicin (Doxil) in Women With Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as liposomal doxorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving chemotherapy in different ways, such as into the breast ducts, may kill more tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of liposomal doxorubicin when given before mastectomy in treating women with invasive breast cancer.

Przegląd badań

Status

Zakończony

Warunki

Szczegółowy opis

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Evaluate the feasibility, safety, and maximum tolerated dose of intraductal pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome in women with invasive breast cancer awaiting mastectomy.

Secondary

  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of intraductal pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome, including serial plasma concentrations of doxorubicin and doxorubicinol and tissue concentrations in different portions of the breast at the time of surgery.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.

Patients receive an intraductal injection of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome* on day 1. Patients undergo mastectomy 2-4 weeks later.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome* until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. At least 6 patients are treated at the MTD.

NOTE: *The first cohort of 3 patients receive intraductal dextrose only followed by surgery as a feasibility study. An additional 3 patients receiving intravenous PLD will be enrolled in a pharmacokinetic control portion of the study.

Typ studiów

Interwencyjne

Zapisy (Rzeczywisty)

20

Faza

  • Faza 1

Kontakty i lokalizacje

Ta sekcja zawiera dane kontaktowe osób prowadzących badanie oraz informacje o tym, gdzie badanie jest przeprowadzane.

Lokalizacje studiów

    • Indiana
      • Indianapolis, Indiana, Stany Zjednoczone, 46202-5289
        • Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center
    • Maryland
      • Baltimore, Maryland, Stany Zjednoczone, 21231-2410
        • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Kryteria uczestnictwa

Badacze szukają osób, które pasują do określonego opisu, zwanego kryteriami kwalifikacyjnymi. Niektóre przykłady tych kryteriów to ogólny stan zdrowia danej osoby lub wcześniejsze leczenie.

Kryteria kwalifikacji

Wiek uprawniający do nauki

18 lat i starsze (Dorosły, Starszy dorosły)

Akceptuje zdrowych ochotników

Nie

Płeć kwalifikująca się do nauki

Kobieta

Opis

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed infiltrating carcinoma of the breast meeting any of the following criteria:

    • T1-3, any N disease
    • Proven ductal carcinoma in situ
  • Unresected disease

    • Planned mastectomy as definitive surgical procedure

      • Known or suspected metastatic disease allowed provided mastectomy is planned
  • Nonpalpable tumor allowed (e.g., initial T2-3 tumor that responded to preoperative therapy)
  • No inflammatory breast cancer or other T4 features
  • Successful baseline ductogram

    • Baseline nipple aspiration procedure must identify a duct productive of nipple aspirate fluid
    • No severe nipple retraction
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Female patients
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL
  • Creatinine ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Bilirubin ≤ 2 times ULN
  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No significant history of severe allergy to iodinated contrast material or debilitating anxiety that may not allow for a ductogram

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Prior preoperative chemotherapy, trastuzumab (Herceptin®), or hormonal therapy allowed provided it was completed 7-14 days prior to study treatment
  • No prior radiation therapy, excisional biopsy, breast reduction, areolar surgery, or breast implant (present or past history of implant that was removed)
  • No other prior procedure that may have altered the breast ductal system in the ipsilateral breast
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy, radiotherapy, endocrine therapy, or biologic agents for breast cancer
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs
  • Concurrent bisphosphonates allowed

Plan studiów

Ta sekcja zawiera szczegółowe informacje na temat planu badania, w tym sposób zaprojektowania badania i jego pomiary.

Jak projektuje się badanie?

Szczegóły projektu

  • Główny cel: Leczenie
  • Przydział: Nielosowe
  • Model interwencyjny: Przydział równoległy
  • Maskowanie: Brak (otwarta etykieta)

Broń i interwencje

Grupa uczestników / Arm
Interwencja / Leczenie
Eksperymentalny: Intraductal arm
Participants received intraductal administration of dextrose or dextrose with pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride (or PLD) prior to conventional surgery for breast cancer.
Patients will receive PLD intraductally according to the dose escalation schema (Dose Level -1=1 mg, Dose Level 1=2 mg, Dose Level 2= 5mg, Dose Level 3=10 mg). The PLD dose will be diluted in 5% dextrose in water and will be mixed for a total volume of 5 ml. The PLD will be administered via a breast duct (i.e., intraductally) using a microcatheter
Inne nazwy:
  • Doxorubicin HCl Liposome Injection, Dox-SL, Doxil TM
Aktywny komparator: Intravenous arm
Participants receiving standard intravenous administration of pegylated liposomal doxorubicin prior to breast biopsy for drug concentrations.
Blood samples and a breast tissue biopsy collected to look at levels of doxorubincol from patients receiving intravenous pegylated liposomal doxorubin to compare to the group receiving drug intraductally.
Inne nazwy:
  • Doxorubicin HCl Liposome Injection, Dox-SL, Doxil TM

Co mierzy badanie?

Podstawowe miary wyniku

Miara wyniku
Opis środka
Ramy czasowe
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)
Ramy czasowe: Until up to 30 days after PLD administration
Maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of administering pegylated liposomal doxorubicin (PLD) into one duct of women with breast cancer awaiting mastectomy. MTD reflects highest dose of drug that did not cause Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) in more than 30% of patients.
Until up to 30 days after PLD administration

Miary wyników drugorzędnych

Miara wyniku
Opis środka
Ramy czasowe
Concentrations of Doxorubicin in Blood (Plasma) at Definitive Surgery
Ramy czasowe: Baseline, 4 hrs, day2/24 hrs, day 8, day of surgery/biopsy
Due to the limited number of samples and detectable levels, the maximum concentration of doxorubicin in blood (plasma) across all the participants in each group is reported.
Baseline, 4 hrs, day2/24 hrs, day 8, day of surgery/biopsy
Concentrations of Doxorubicin in Tissue at Definitive Surgery
Ramy czasowe: Day of surgery/biopsy
Due to the limited number of samples and detectable levels, the maximum concentration of doxorubicin in tissue across all the participants in each group is reported.
Day of surgery/biopsy

Współpracownicy i badacze

Tutaj znajdziesz osoby i organizacje zaangażowane w to badanie.

Śledczy

  • Krzesło do nauki: Vered Stearns, MD, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Publikacje i pomocne linki

Osoba odpowiedzialna za wprowadzenie informacji o badaniu dobrowolnie udostępnia te publikacje. Mogą one dotyczyć wszystkiego, co jest związane z badaniem.

Daty zapisu na studia

Daty te śledzą postęp w przesyłaniu rekordów badań i podsumowań wyników do ClinicalTrials.gov. Zapisy badań i zgłoszone wyniki są przeglądane przez National Library of Medicine (NLM), aby upewnić się, że spełniają określone standardy kontroli jakości, zanim zostaną opublikowane na publicznej stronie internetowej.

Główne daty studiów

Rozpoczęcie studiów

1 listopada 2005

Zakończenie podstawowe (Rzeczywisty)

1 maja 2011

Ukończenie studiów (Rzeczywisty)

1 października 2011

Daty rejestracji na studia

Pierwszy przesłany

9 lutego 2006

Pierwszy przesłany, który spełnia kryteria kontroli jakości

9 lutego 2006

Pierwszy wysłany (Oszacować)

13 lutego 2006

Aktualizacje rekordów badań

Ostatnia wysłana aktualizacja (Oszacować)

31 października 2013

Ostatnia przesłana aktualizacja, która spełniała kryteria kontroli jakości

7 października 2013

Ostatnia weryfikacja

1 października 2013

Więcej informacji

Te informacje zostały pobrane bezpośrednio ze strony internetowej clinicaltrials.gov bez żadnych zmian. Jeśli chcesz zmienić, usunąć lub zaktualizować dane swojego badania, skontaktuj się z register@clinicaltrials.gov. Gdy tylko zmiana zostanie wprowadzona na stronie clinicaltrials.gov, zostanie ona automatycznie zaktualizowana również na naszej stronie internetowej .

Subskrybuj