- ICH GCP
- Registro degli studi clinici negli Stati Uniti
- Sperimentazione clinica NCT00049452
Zoledronate in Preventing Bone Loss in Premenopausal Women Receiving Chemotherapy After Surgery For Early Stage Breast Cancer
A Randomized, Placebo Controlled Trial Of Zoledronic Acid For The Prevention Of Bone Loss In Premenopausal Women With Early Stage Breast Cancer
RATIONALE: It is not yet known whether zoledronate is effective in preventing bone loss in premenopausal women who are receiving adjuvant chemotherapy after undergoing surgery for early stage breast cancer.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to determine the effectiveness of zoledronate in preventing bone loss in premenopausal women who are receiving chemotherapy after surgery for early stage breast cancer.
Panoramica dello studio
Stato
Condizioni
Intervento / Trattamento
Descrizione dettagliata
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the changes in bone mineral density (BMD) and bone turnover that occur in premenopausal women with resected early stage breast cancer during and after 6 months of adjuvant chemotherapy.
- Determine the factors that predict bone loss during chemotherapy, particularly induction of amenorrhea, type of chemotherapeutic regimen, glucocorticoid exposure, and baseline BMD, in these patients.
- Determine whether zoledronate prevents bone loss in these patients when given during and after adjuvant chemotherapy.
- Determine the effect of zoledronate on markers of bone turnover in these patients during and after adjuvant chemotherapy.
- Determine whether the effect on markers of bone turnover predicts response to zoledronate in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to estrogen receptor status (positive vs negative), progesterone receptor status (positive vs negative), and adjuvant chemotherapy regimen. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive zoledronate IV over 15 minutes on day 1.
- Arm II: Patients receive placebo IV over 15 minutes on day 1. In both arms, treatment repeats every 3 months for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression. Patients also receive calcium and cholecalciferol (vitamin D) supplements daily.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline and at 6 and 12 months.
Patients are followed at 1 year.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 120 patients (60 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.
Tipo di studio
Iscrizione (Anticipato)
Fase
- Fase 3
Contatti e Sedi
Luoghi di studio
-
-
Connecticut
-
Stamford, Connecticut, Stati Uniti, 06904
- Carl and Dorothy Bennett Cancer Center at Stamford Hospital
-
-
New Jersey
-
Paramus, New Jersey, Stati Uniti, 07652-2509
- Valley Hospital - Paramus
-
-
New York
-
New York, New York, Stati Uniti, 10032
- Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University
-
-
Criteri di partecipazione
Criteri di ammissibilità
Età idonea allo studio
Accetta volontari sani
Sessi ammissibili allo studio
Descrizione
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
Diagnosis of localized breast cancer
- Stage I or II (T1-3, N0-2, M0)
- Planned adjuvant chemotherapy (after surgery) of at least 6 months in duration
Hormone receptor status:
- Estrogen receptor and progesterone receptor status known
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 to 50
Sex
- Female
Menopausal status
- Premenopausal or perimenopausal
Performance status
- Not specified
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Not specified
Hepatic
- Not specified
Renal
- Creatinine less than 2 mg/dL
Other
- No T score of less than 2.0 on bone mineral density (BMD)
- No fragility fracture
- No lumbar spine anatomy that would preclude accurate BMD measurement of a minimum of 3 lumbar vertebrae
- Not pregnant
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No concurrent radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
Other
- At least 1 month since prior calcitonin
- At least 12 months since prior bisphosphonates given for more than 1 month duration
- No concurrent fluoride therapy (10 mg/day or more)
- No concurrent enrollment in another experimental drug study
Piano di studio
Come è strutturato lo studio?
Dettagli di progettazione
- Scopo principale: Terapia di supporto
- Assegnazione: Randomizzato
- Mascheramento: Doppio
Cosa sta misurando lo studio?
Misure di risultato primarie
Misura del risultato |
|---|
|
Changes in lumbar spine bone mineral density (BMD) at 6 months
|
Misure di risultato secondarie
Misura del risultato |
|---|
|
Changes in lumbar spine BMD at 12 and 24 months
|
|
Total hip and femoral neck BMD at 6, 12, and 24 months
|
|
Serum markers of bone turnover (osteocalcin, bone-specific alkaline phosphatase, and cross-linked C-telopeptide of type 1 collagen levels) measured every 6 weeks for 6 months, and at 9 and 12 months
|
|
Quality of life as measured by the Short Form-36 instrument at baseline, and at 6 and 12 months
|
|
Costi di trattamento
|
Collaboratori e investigatori
Collaboratori
Pubblicazioni e link utili
Pubblicazioni generali
- Hershman DL, McMahon DJ, Crew KD, Shao T, Cremers S, Brafman L, Awad D, Shane E. Prevention of bone loss by zoledronic acid in premenopausal women undergoing adjuvant chemotherapy persist up to one year following discontinuing treatment. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2010 Feb;95(2):559-66. doi: 10.1210/jc.2009-1366. Epub 2009 Dec 18.
- Hershman DL, McMahon DJ, Crew KD, Cremers S, Irani D, Cucchiara G, Brafman L, Shane E. Zoledronic acid prevents bone loss in premenopausal women undergoing adjuvant chemotherapy for early-stage breast cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2008 Oct 10;26(29):4739-45. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2008.16.4707. Epub 2008 Aug 18.
Studiare le date dei record
Studia le date principali
Inizio studio
Completamento dello studio (Effettivo)
Date di iscrizione allo studio
Primo inviato
Primo inviato che soddisfa i criteri di controllo qualità
Primo Inserito (Stima)
Aggiornamenti dei record di studio
Ultimo aggiornamento pubblicato (Stima)
Ultimo aggiornamento inviato che soddisfa i criteri QC
Ultimo verificato
Maggiori informazioni
Termini relativi a questo studio
Termini MeSH pertinenti aggiuntivi
Altri numeri di identificazione dello studio
- CDR0000258105
- CPMC-IRB-14069
- NCI-G02-2127
- NOVARTIS-CPMC-IRB-14069
Queste informazioni sono state recuperate direttamente dal sito web clinicaltrials.gov senza alcuna modifica. In caso di richieste di modifica, rimozione o aggiornamento dei dettagli dello studio, contattare register@clinicaltrials.gov. Non appena verrà implementata una modifica su clinicaltrials.gov, questa verrà aggiornata automaticamente anche sul nostro sito web .