Esta página foi traduzida automaticamente e a precisão da tradução não é garantida. Por favor, consulte o versão em inglês para um texto fonte.

Pain After Tumescent Mastectomy or Standard Mastectomy in Women With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Breast Cancer

19 de junho de 2017 atualizado por: University of California, Davis

Tumescent Mastectomy: A Prospective Comparison to Standard Mastectomy Technique

RATIONALE: New surgery techniques may lessen pain after breast surgery. It is not yet known whether tumescent mastectomy or standard mastectomy results in less pain in women with breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying pain after tumescent mastectomy compared with pain after standard mastectomy in women with stage I, stage II, or stage III breast cancer.

Visão geral do estudo

Descrição detalhada

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To compare post-operative pain after tumescent vs standard mastectomy in women with stage I-III breast cancer.

Secondary

  • To compare the total time of operation from incision to completion of wound closure.
  • To compare the time of operation from first incision to completion of skin flaps.
  • To compare the total estimated blood loss.
  • To compare the number of days the Jackson-Pratt drain is left in place under skin flaps with wound drainage > 30 mL/24 hours.
  • To compare the incidence of wound complications such as skin necrosis, hematoma, cellulitis, abscess, and seroma between groups.

OUTLINE: Patients are grouped according to which surgeon provided their evaluation and treatment recommendations.

  • Group 1: Patients undergo standard mastectomy.
  • Group 2: Patients undergo tumescent mastectomy. All patients receive standardized post-operative pain management comprising morphine sulfate for analgesia or an equivalent dose of hydromorphone hydrochloride for 24 hours following surgery. Patients then receive 1-2 oral acetaminophen/oxycodone hydrochloride combination tablets (or a comparable amount of another narcotic/acetaminophen combination) every 6 hours as needed. Pain is assessed using the Short-form McGill Pain Questionnaire (SF-MPQ).

Tipo de estudo

Observacional

Inscrição (Real)

74

Contactos e Locais

Esta seção fornece os detalhes de contato para aqueles que conduzem o estudo e informações sobre onde este estudo está sendo realizado.

Locais de estudo

    • California
      • Sacramento, California, Estados Unidos, 95817
        • University of California Davis Cancer Center

Critérios de participação

Os pesquisadores procuram pessoas que se encaixem em uma determinada descrição, chamada de critérios de elegibilidade. Alguns exemplos desses critérios são a condição geral de saúde de uma pessoa ou tratamentos anteriores.

Critérios de elegibilidade

Idades elegíveis para estudo

18 anos a 120 anos (Adulto, Adulto mais velho)

Aceita Voluntários Saudáveis

Não

Gêneros Elegíveis para o Estudo

Fêmea

Método de amostragem

Amostra Não Probabilística

População do estudo

Adult (age 18 or more) women with histologic diagnosis of stage 0, I, II, III breast cancer undergoing mastectomy.

Descrição

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following:

    • Invasive (ductal or lobular) breast cancer
    • In situ (ductal) breast cancer
  • Stage 0-III disease
  • Localized disease
  • Candidate for curative mastectomy and selected mastectomy or modified radical mastectomy for surgical option of treatment at the University of California Davis Medical Center
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • WBC ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 90,000/mm^3
  • PT/PTT ≤ upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • No NYHA cardiac disease class III-IV
  • Cancer survivors must have undergone potentially curative therapy for all prior malignancies with no evidence of prior malignancy within the last 5 years, except for effectively treated basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, carcinoma in situ of the cervix treated by surgery alone, or lobular carcinoma in situ of the breast treated by surgery alone
  • Body Mass Index ≤ 40

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No prior major breast surgery, including breast augmentation or reduction surgery
  • No preoperative chemotherapy or radiotherapy
  • No concurrent immediate breast reconstruction
  • No concurrent bilateral mastectomy
  • No concurrent narcotic pain medication

Plano de estudo

Esta seção fornece detalhes do plano de estudo, incluindo como o estudo é projetado e o que o estudo está medindo.

Como o estudo é projetado?

Detalhes do projeto

Coortes e Intervenções

Grupo / Coorte
Intervenção / Tratamento
Group 1
Patients undergo standard mastectomy.
Patients undergo tumescent or standard mastectomy
Group 2
Patients undergo tumescent mastectomy.
Patients undergo tumescent or standard mastectomy

O que o estudo está medindo?

Medidas de resultados primários

Medida de resultado
Prazo
Post-operative pain at 1 and at 7-10 days after mastectomy
Prazo: 7-10 days
7-10 days

Medidas de resultados secundários

Medida de resultado
Prazo
Number of acetaminophen/oxycodone tablets taken
Prazo: 7-10 days after surgery
7-10 days after surgery
Total time of operation from breast incision to completion of wound closure
Prazo: Day of surgery
Day of surgery
Time of operation from first incision to completion of both superior and inferior skin flaps
Prazo: Day of surgery
Day of surgery
Estimated blood loss
Prazo: Day of surgery
Day of surgery
Number of days the Jackson-Pratt drain is left in place with wound drainage > 30 mL/24 hours
Prazo: 7-10 days after surgery
7-10 days after surgery
Wound complications (skin necrosis, hematoma, cellulitis, abscess, and seroma) occurring up to and 10 days post-operatively
Prazo: Up to 10 days after surgery
Up to 10 days after surgery

Colaboradores e Investigadores

É aqui que você encontrará pessoas e organizações envolvidas com este estudo.

Investigadores

  • Investigador principal: Steve R. Martinez, MD, University of California, Davis

Datas de registro do estudo

Essas datas acompanham o progresso do registro do estudo e os envios de resumo dos resultados para ClinicalTrials.gov. Os registros do estudo e os resultados relatados são revisados ​​pela National Library of Medicine (NLM) para garantir que atendam aos padrões específicos de controle de qualidade antes de serem publicados no site público.

Datas Principais do Estudo

Início do estudo

1 de outubro de 2008

Conclusão Primária (Real)

1 de janeiro de 2014

Conclusão do estudo (Real)

1 de janeiro de 2014

Datas de inscrição no estudo

Enviado pela primeira vez

7 de março de 2009

Enviado pela primeira vez que atendeu aos critérios de CQ

7 de março de 2009

Primeira postagem (Estimativa)

10 de março de 2009

Atualizações de registro de estudo

Última Atualização Postada (Real)

21 de junho de 2017

Última atualização enviada que atendeu aos critérios de controle de qualidade

19 de junho de 2017

Última verificação

1 de junho de 2017

Mais Informações

Essas informações foram obtidas diretamente do site clinicaltrials.gov sem nenhuma alteração. Se você tiver alguma solicitação para alterar, remover ou atualizar os detalhes do seu estudo, entre em contato com register@clinicaltrials.gov. Assim que uma alteração for implementada em clinicaltrials.gov, ela também será atualizada automaticamente em nosso site .

Se inscrever