- ICH GCP
- US Clinical Trials Registry
- Clinical Trial NCT02356588
A Trial Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of the Sublingual Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg for Post-Operative Pain After Abdominal Surgery
A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of the Sublingual Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg for the Treatment of Post-Operative Pain in Patients After Abdominal Surgery
Study Overview
Status
Conditions
Intervention / Treatment
Study Type
Enrollment (Actual)
Phase
- Phase 3
Contacts and Locations
Study Locations
-
-
Alabama
-
Sheffield, Alabama, United States, 35660
- Shoals Medical Trials, Inc
-
-
California
-
Pasadena, California, United States, 91106
- Lotus Clinical Research
-
-
Texas
-
Houston, Texas, United States, 77004
- Victory Medical Center
-
Houston, Texas, United States, 77024
- Research Concepts, LLC
-
-
Participation Criteria
Eligibility Criteria
Ages Eligible for Study
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
Genders Eligible for Study
Description
Inclusion Criteria (additional criteria not specified here):
Patients who are scheduled to undergo one of the following procedures with general anesthesia or spinal anesthesia that does not include intrathecal opioids during the operation:
- abdominoplasty
- open tension-free inguinal hernioplasty (Lichenstein repair with mesh)
- laparoscopic abdominal surgery
- Patients classified as American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) class I - III (Appendix I).
- Female patients of childbearing potential must be using an effective method of birth control at the time of screening visit
- Patients who are expected to have moderate-to-severe post-operative pain for at least 24 hours.
Exclusion Criteria (additional criteria not specified here):
- Patients who have taken an opioid for more than 30 consecutive days, at a daily dose of more than 15 mg of morphine (or equivalent), within the past 3 months prior to surgery
- Patients who are currently taking monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) or have taken MAOIs within 14 days of the first dose of study drug.
- Patients with current sleep apnea that has been documented by a sleep laboratory study or are on home continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP).
- Patients who previously have had abdominoplasty or have had an inguinal hernia repair on the same side.
Study Plan
How is the study designed?
Design Details
- Primary Purpose: Treatment
- Allocation: Randomized
- Interventional Model: Parallel Assignment
- Masking: Quadruple
Arms and Interventions
Participant Group / Arm |
Intervention / Treatment |
|---|---|
|
Experimental: Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg
A stratified randomization will be applied in this study with sex as a stratification factor.
Patients who meet all inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria at screening, and following surgery, will be randomly assigned at a 2:1 ratio to treatment with ST 30 mcg or PT within one of two groups (male or female) at each study center.
Patients may receive a dose of study medication no more frequently than once per hour.
The study may last up to 48 hours.
|
Other Names:
|
|
Placebo Comparator: Placebo Tablet
A stratified randomization will be applied in this study with sex as a stratification factor.
Patients who meet all inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria at screening, and following surgery, will be randomly assigned at a 2:1 ratio to treatment with ST 30 mcg or PT within one of two groups (male or female) at each study center.
Patients may receive a dose of study medication no more frequently than once per hour.
The study may last up to 48 hours.
|
Other Names:
|
What is the study measuring?
Primary Outcome Measures
Outcome Measure |
Measure Description |
Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
|
Time-weighted Summed Pain Intensity Difference (SPID) Over the 12-hour Study Period (SPID12).
Time Frame: 12 hours
|
The primary outcome measure is the summed pain intensity difference to baseline over the 12-hour study period (SPID-12). A pain intensity score ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain) is obtained at baseline and throughout the 12 hour study period. The SPID-12 is calculated by summing the difference between baseline pain score and pain score at each assessment time point. The observed SPID-12 scores ranged from -42.15 to 71.87 in the active group and -34.96 to 64.37 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity. |
12 hours
|
Secondary Outcome Measures
Outcome Measure |
Measure Description |
Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
|
Time-weighted Summed Pain Intensity Difference (SPID) Over the 24-hour Study Period (SPID24).
Time Frame: 24 hours
|
The primary outcome measure is the summed pain intensity difference to baseline over the 24-hour study period (SPID-24).
A pain intensity score ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain) is obtained at baseline and throughout the 24 hour study period.
The SPID-24 is calculated by summing the difference between baseline pain score and pain score at each assessment time point.
The observed SPID-24 scores ranged from -70.00 to 148.70 in the active group to -58.09 to 160.24 in the placebo group.
A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity.
|
24 hours
|
|
TOTPAR12
Time Frame: 12 hours
|
Total pain relief over the 12 hours.
The observed total pain relief scores ranged from 4.08 to 47.50 in the active group and 1.77 to 33.71 in the placebo group.
A higher score indicates greater pain relief.
|
12 hours
|
|
TOTPAR24
Time Frame: 24 Hours
|
Total pain relief over the 24 hour study period.
The observed total pain relief scores ranged from 12.35 to 95.23 in the active group and 2.61 to 82.04 in the placebo group.
A higher score indicates greater pain relief.
|
24 Hours
|
|
Time-weighted SPRID12
Time Frame: 12 hours
|
Time-weighted summed pain relief intensity difference (SPRID) over the 12 hour study period.
The observed SPRID scores ranged from -38.08 to 106.82 in the active group and -20.10 to 95.72 in the placebo group.
A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and decrease in pain relief, while a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity and increase in pain relief.
|
12 hours
|
|
Time-weighted SPRID24
Time Frame: 24 hours
|
Time-weighted summed pain relief intensity difference (SPRID) over the 24 hour study period.
The observed SPRID scores ranged from -49.67 to 222.04 in the active group and -24.97 to 237.54 in the placebo group.
A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and decrease in pain relief, while a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity and increase in pain relief.
|
24 hours
|
|
Patient Global Assessment
Time Frame: 24 hours
|
Proportion of patients who responded good or excellent to the global assessment of method of pain control at 24 hours
|
24 hours
|
|
Healthcare Professional Global Assessment
Time Frame: 24 hours
|
Proportion of Health Care Professionals who responded good or excellent to the global assessment of method of pain control at 24 hours
|
24 hours
|
|
Summed Pain Intensity Difference
Time Frame: 1 hour
|
The SPID-1 is calculated by summing the difference to baseline between baseline pain score and the pain score at each assessment time point through 1 hour. The observed SPID scores ranged from -2.00 to 5.25 in the active group to -4.90 to 3.00 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity. |
1 hour
|
|
Analysis of Total Number of Doses Used During the 12-Hour Study Period in the ITT Population
Time Frame: Cumulative through 12 hours
|
Cumulative through 12 hours
|
|
|
Analysis of Total Number of Doses Used During the 24-Hour Study Period in the ITT Population
Time Frame: 24 hours
|
24 hours
|
|
|
Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population
Time Frame: Cumulative through 6 hours
|
Cumulative through 6 hours
|
|
|
Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population
Time Frame: Cumulative through 12 hours
|
Cumulative through 12 hours
|
|
|
Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population
Time Frame: Cumulative through 24 hours
|
Cumulative through 24 hours
|
Collaborators and Investigators
Sponsor
Study record dates
Study Major Dates
Study Start
Primary Completion (Actual)
Study Completion (Actual)
Study Registration Dates
First Submitted
First Submitted That Met QC Criteria
First Posted (Estimate)
Study Record Updates
Last Update Posted (Actual)
Last Update Submitted That Met QC Criteria
Last Verified
More Information
Terms related to this study
Additional Relevant MeSH Terms
- Pathologic Processes
- Postoperative Complications
- Pain
- Neurologic Manifestations
- Pain, Postoperative
- Physiological Effects of Drugs
- Central Nervous System Depressants
- Peripheral Nervous System Agents
- Analgesics
- Sensory System Agents
- Anesthetics, Intravenous
- Anesthetics, General
- Anesthetics
- Analgesics, Opioid
- Narcotics
- Adjuvants, Anesthesia
- Sufentanil
Other Study ID Numbers
- SAP301
This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact register@clinicaltrials.gov. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.