Multicomponent Exercise Program in Women With Hypertension
Effects of a Multicomponent Physical Exercise Program on Blood Pressure Parameters, Cardiorespiratory Capacity, Handgrip Strength and Quality of Life in Hypertensive Women With Cardiovascular Risk
This study tested whether a 12-week supervised multicomponent exercise program is associated with changes in blood pressure, estimated cardiorespiratory fitness, handgrip strength and health-related quality of life in women aged 45 to 59 years with hypertension. The program combined strength training, aerobic exercise (brisk walking or light jogging), controlled breathing and flexibility, in three sessions per week of about 60 minutes, mainly in community spaces in Bogotá, Colombia, with a hybrid option for women who could not attend in person. Thirty-two women were assigned, by convenience according to their availability for the class schedule, to an exercise group (n = 16) or to a control group that kept its usual activities (n = 16). Systolic and diastolic blood pressure, estimated cardiorespiratory fitness (Rockport 1-mile walk test), handgrip strength (dynamometer) and quality of life (SF-36 questionnaire) were measured before and after the 12 weeks.
Descripción general del estudio
Estado
Estado
Condiciones
Condiciones
Intervención / Tratamiento
Intervención / Tratamiento
Descripción detallada
Design: non-randomized, parallel-group, quasi-experimental study with pre- and post-intervention measurements in an exercise group and a control group.
Recruitment and setting: participants were recruited in Bogotá, Colombia, during the two months before the baseline assessment (approximately from late April 2026), through an information session and written informed consent. The program was delivered mainly in community spaces in the Restrepo neighborhood (Antonio Nariño locality), with a hybrid option for participants who could not attend in person.
Timeline: baseline assessments were carried out on 24 and 26 June 2026 and the program started on 30 June 2026. Post-intervention assessments were carried out in week 12: blood pressure, handgrip strength and anthropometry on 17 September 2026 (about 48 hours after the last session), the Rockport walk test on 19 September 2026, and the SF-36 questionnaire was completed by participants between 17 and 19 September 2026.
Program: the exercise program followed the FITT-VP model (frequency, intensity, time, type, volume and progression), with progression in three phases (anatomical conditioning, development and consolidation). Exercise intensity was monitored with the OMNI perceived exertion scale (0-10), and heart rate was checked with a chest strap in a random subset of participants. In week 6, the exercise group completed tolerance check tests (blood pressure, cardiorespiratory fitness and handgrip strength) only to decide whether the plan needed adjustments; these were not part of the confirmatory analysis. The control group maintained its usual activities.
Analysis: the main analysis was a 2 x 2 mixed ANOVA (Group x Time), with the Group x Time interaction as the key parameter. An ANCOVA on post-intervention diastolic blood pressure, with baseline diastolic blood pressure as covariate, was added after a baseline imbalance was detected and was not specified in the original protocol.
REGISTRATION NOTE: this study was registered retrospectively, after data collection had been completed.
Tipo de estudio
Tipo de estudio
Inscripción (Actual)
Inscripción
Fase
Fase
- No aplica
Contactos y Ubicaciones
Ubicaciones de estudio
-
-
Bogota D.C.
-
Bogotá, Bogota D.C., Colombia
- Community spaces, Restrepo neighborhood (Antonio Nariño locality)
-
-
Criterios de participación
Criterio de elegibilidad
Criterio de elegibilidad
Edades elegibles para estudiar
Acepta Voluntarios Saludables
Géneros elegibles para el estudio
Descripción
Inclusion Criteria:
- Women aged 45 to 59 years
- Medically confirmed diagnosis of essential arterial hypertension
- Medical clearance to practice exercise
- Low physical activity level or sedentary
- Ability to sign informed consent
- Availability to comply with the intervention program
- Stable clinical condition
- No use of substances that alter the physiological response
Exclusion Criteria:
- Men or outside the age range
- Secondary or unconfirmed hypertension
- Medical contraindication to exercise
- Recent participation in structured exercise programs
- Cognitive difficulty or refusal to participate
- Low adherence or inability to attend
- Recent cardiovascular events
- Use of substances that interfere with the study
Plan de estudios
¿Cómo está diseñado el estudio?
Detalles de diseño
- Propósito principal: Tratamiento
- Asignación: No aleatorizado
- Modelo Intervencionista: Asignación paralela
- Enmascaramiento: Ninguno (etiqueta abierta)
Número de brazos
Armas e Intervenciones
Grupo de participantes/brazoGrupo de participantes/brazo |
Intervención / TratamientoIntervención / Tratamiento |
|---|---|
|
Experimental: Multicomponent exercise program
Supervised multicomponent exercise program for 12 weeks, three sessions per week (up to 60 minutes), combining strength training, aerobic exercise (brisk walking, rhythmic cardio-boxing and interval work), controlled breathing and flexibility. Program planned with the FITT-VP model and progressed in three phases (anatomical conditioning, development and consolidation). Delivered mainly in community spaces, with a hybrid option for participants who could not attend in person. |
Supervised program of 12 weeks, three sessions per week (up to 60 minutes). Components: muscular strength training with elastic bands and body weight (squat, step-up, incline push-up, band row, farmer walk); aerobic exercise (brisk walking or jogging, rhythmic cardio-boxing and interval work at a prescribed intensity); controlled breathing (square breathing 4x4x4x4, diaphragmatic, pursed-lip and slow breathing) and flexibility (pectoral, hamstring, iliopsoas and lateral trunk stretches). Load progressed over three phases. Intensity was monitored with the OMNI perceived exertion scale (0-10) and, in a random subset of participants, with a chest-strap heart rate monitor (Polar H10). |
|
Sin intervención: Control
Women with hypertension who maintained their usual activities during the 12 weeks and received no exercise program. They were assessed before and after the same period with the same instruments as the exercise group. |
¿Qué mide el estudio?
Medidas de resultado primarias
Medidas de resultado primarias
Medida de resultado |
Medida Descripción |
Periodo de tiempo |
|---|---|---|
|
Change in resting systolic blood pressure (SBP) from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
Resting systolic blood pressure in mmHg, measured with an automated upper-arm monitor (Omron HEM-716DT2). Three measurements at rest (at least 5 minutes of rest); the mean of the second and third measurements is used. Change = post-intervention value minus baseline value. Between-group difference in change tested with the Group x Time interaction of a 2 x 2 mixed ANOVA. |
Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
|
Change in resting diastolic blood pressure (DBP) from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
Resting diastolic blood pressure in mmHg, measured with an automated upper-arm monitor (Omron HEM-716DT2). Three measurements at rest (at least 5 minutes of rest); the mean of the second and third measurements is used. Change = post-intervention value minus baseline value. Tested with the Group x Time interaction of a 2 x 2 mixed ANOVA. An ANCOVA on post-intervention DBP with baseline DBP as covariate was added after a baseline imbalance was detected and was not specified in the original protocol. |
Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
Medidas de resultado secundarias
Medidas de resultado secundarias
Medida de resultado |
Medida Descripción |
Periodo de tiempo |
|---|---|---|
|
Change in estimated cardiorespiratory fitness (estimated VO2) from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (19 September 2026)
|
Estimated VO2 in ml/kg/min from the Rockport 1-mile (1,609 m) walk test, using walking time and final heart rate (recorded with a chest strap, Polar H10) in the equation of Kline et al. (1987). This is an estimate and not a direct measurement of maximal oxygen uptake. Change = post-intervention minus baseline. |
Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (19 September 2026)
|
|
Change in handgrip strength, dominant hand, from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
Maximal handgrip strength of the dominant hand in kg, measured with a hand dynamometer (Camry EH101). Three attempts; the maximum value is recorded. Change = post-intervention minus baseline. |
Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
|
Change in handgrip strength, non-dominant hand, from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
Maximal handgrip strength of the non-dominant hand in kg, measured with a hand dynamometer (Camry EH101). Three attempts; the maximum value is recorded. Change = post-intervention minus baseline. |
Baseline (24 and 26 June 2026) and week 12 of the program (17 September 2026)
|
|
Change in health-related quality of life (SF-36 domain scores) from baseline to week 12
Periodo de tiempo: Baseline (June 2026) and week 12 of the program (completed between 17 and 19 September 2026)
|
SF-36 questionnaire, scored 0-100 for each of its eight domains (physical functioning, role-physical, bodily pain, general health, vitality, social functioning, role-emotional and mental health); higher scores indicate better perceived health. Each domain was analyzed separately; no global SF-36 score was calculated. Change = post-intervention minus baseline. |
Baseline (June 2026) and week 12 of the program (completed between 17 and 19 September 2026)
|
Colaboradores e Investigadores
Patrocinador
Patrocinador
Fechas de registro del estudio
Fechas importantes del estudio
Inicio del estudio (Actual)
Inicio del estudio
Finalización primaria (Actual)
Finalización primaria
Finalización del estudio (Actual)
Finalización del estudio
Fechas de registro del estudio
Enviado por primera vez
Enviado por primera vez
Primero enviado que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad
Primero enviado que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad
Publicado por primera vez (Actual)
Publicado por primera vez
Actualizaciones de registros de estudio
Última actualización publicada (Actual)
Última actualización publicada
Última actualización enviada que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad
Última actualización enviada que cumplió con los criterios de control de calidad
Última verificación
Última verificación
Más información
Términos relacionados con este estudio
Palabras clave
Términos MeSH relevantes adicionales
Otros números de identificación del estudio
Otros números de identificación del estudio
- 340ETIC-041-2026
Plan de datos de participantes individuales (IPD)
¿Planea compartir datos de participantes individuales (IPD)?
Descripción del plan IPD
Individual participant data will not be shared because the informed consent guaranteed participants that only aggregated results would be published and that identifiable data would be accessible only to the research team.
Información sobre medicamentos y dispositivos, documentos del estudio
Estudia un producto farmacéutico regulado por la FDA de EE. UU.
Estudia un producto de dispositivo regulado por la FDA de EE. UU.
Esta información se obtuvo directamente del sitio web clinicaltrials.gov sin cambios. Si tiene alguna solicitud para cambiar, eliminar o actualizar los detalles de su estudio, comuníquese con register@clinicaltrials.gov. Tan pronto como se implemente un cambio en clinicaltrials.gov, también se actualizará automáticamente en nuestro sitio web. .