基于手机的戒烟专家系统

基于手机的戒烟专家系统

赞助商

首席赞助商: VA Pacific Islands Health Care System

合作者: U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command

资源 VA Pacific Islands Health Care System
简要总结

该项目旨在通过以下方式提高退伍军人的情绪和身体健康: 利用基于网络的计算机量身定制的干预措施(CTI)减少吸烟 反馈通过手机发送的消息。 CTI已显示出越来越大的前景很有用 改善健康行为的行为改变计划。多种方式可以 提供个性化的CTI信息和反馈;然而,无处不在和复杂 当今的无线移动技术代表了基于经验的新型交付方式 戒烟和其他行为健康干预措施。 CTI基于 经验支持的行为改变跨理论模型(TTM)。基于网络的CTI 修改为退伍军人的人群将用于试点CTI的有效性 单独和CTI以及个性化的文本消息增强功能。初步研究是 随机对照试验评估手机作为干预措施的可行性 改变吸烟行为的方式。这将是第一个适应吸烟的研究 停止基于Internet的CTI以在手机上提供个性化反馈,以减少 退伍军人的吸烟行为。

详细说明

目标:该项目检查了量身定制的短信作为 增强戒烟的计算机化量身定制的干预措施(CTI) 从理论上讲,当今的无线移动技术无处不在且复杂 技术将代表基于经验的戒烟的新交付方式 以及其他行为健康干预措施。 改善健康行为的行为改变计划;但是,无处不在和 当今无线移动技术的先进性代表了新的交付方式 基于证据的戒烟和其他行为健康干预措施 Pro-Change Behavior开发的行为改变的跨理论模型(TTM) 系统公司 研究设计:这位随机,预期的飞行员采用了2(组)x 3(时间点) 研究设计。在全国范围内通过直接邮寄方式招募资深吸烟者 广告,社区通讯,海报和传单。除了随机对照试验 (RCT),焦点小组(n = 9)和个人可用性测试(n = 5)进行了 评估图形用户界面,问题,定制和程序的可接受性 经验丰富的先行研究测试了仅CTI和CTI的有效性 以及增强个性化短信功能以减少退伍军人的吸烟行为。 除戒烟外,还准备改变其他负面健康行为-例如 还评估了饮酒,健康饮食和运动。 研究方法和程序摘要:可用性测试:五种独立的可用性 结合使用Think,对CTI戒烟计划进行了测试 大声协议和Oz向导方法。使用可用性测试软件进行记录 并记录参与者与该计划的互动。参与者提供了定性和 关于程序总体介绍和可用性的定量反馈 在反馈报告中对数据进行编码,分类和汇总,以便对 试点研究:在所有三个时间点,参与者完成了一个简短的 健康风险干预(HRI),另外两项吸烟评估以及戒烟 (SC)干预。HRI评估确定了基线是否已准备好改变吸烟和 其他一些相关的健康行为,以及提供的戒烟干预措施 有关参与者戒烟信心,决策平衡, 和使用各种变更策略。在基线HRI和SC干预之后,CTI 系统将参与者随机分为治疗组(Tx),也接受了 仅CTI或接受CTI和量身定制的文字的治疗加组(Tx-plus) 消息。这项研究是完全匿名进行的。所有参与者都获得了三分 个月的时间访问基于Web的CTI系统。Tx参与者仅在线接收 在线完成后所有参与者都收到的反馈说明/报告 戒烟干预.Tx +参与者也收到了个性化的文字 每周在手机上发送2-5次信息(与 参与者的变革阶段),提供专家指导,鼓励和提醒 支持他们的戒烟努力。 调查结果:基线时招募了四百四十六名退伍军人。 是积极吸烟者,分布在变化阶段的比例为11.9% (n = 53;不打算在接下来的6个月内进行更改);有63%的沉思(n = 281;有意 在接下来的6个月内将发生变化)和25.1%的准备工作(n = 112;打算在 接下来的30天)。235个个体(占52.7%)完成了一个月的学习, 三个月的随访:治疗组n = 116(仅CTI; Tx),治疗组n = 119 治疗加组(CTI加文本消息; Tx加)。结果表明 CTI加上文字讯息干预的效果优于纯CTI干预 前所未有的戒烟率。对于Tx组的参与者,有32.8%的人在 三个月的随访;但是,Tx-plus组中的退出率为43.2%。 这些 研究结果令人鼓舞,并且超过了其他CTI发现的退出率 两组的干预措施几乎都占15%(Krebs,Prochaska&Rossi,2010)。 参与者经验摘要:虽然数据仅适用于以下参与者: 完成了研究,用户满意度量表的指示以及不限成员名额 问题是,退伍军人是否认为CTI和量身定制的短信都合适 此外,Tx-plus小组的参与者还指出,案文 这些消息很有帮助,及时和有用。没有要报告的不良事件。 当前风险摘要-基于研究结果的潜在效益评估: 能够证明TTM是促进多种行为改变的合适模型 此外,添加量身定制的短信可增强 戒烟干预(CTI)和将Tx +组的戒烟率提高到一定水平 这在文献中是史无前例的。此外,处于 其他健康行为在没有干预的情况下发展为A或M. 准备进行面对面的心理治疗,在参加治疗会议时遇到实际问题或恐惧 与寻求心理保健相关的污名,这是由老兵定制,激励人心的 增强CTI可能会带来独特的好处。此外,吸烟并患有 共患行为风险因素可能会发现此CTI足以解决其问题。 从这个意义上讲,经过修改的CTI将使循证精神卫生保健更容易获得 有需要的退伍军人,无需增加对耻辱和成本的担忧。 影响/意义:这是该研究项目的最终摘要。 首先改编基于互联网的戒烟技术,以提供有关吸烟的个性化反馈 手机可以减少退伍军人的吸烟行为。研究结果表明, 行为改变干预措施可以通过Internet成功地提供给退伍军人,并且 量身定制的短信可以显着增强干预效果。 。

总体状况 已完成
开始日期 2009-09-01
完成日期 2012-03-01
主要完成日期 2012-02-01
阶段1
研究类型 介入性
主要结果
测量 大体时间
吸烟率 3个月
次要结果
测量 大体时间
变革阶段 3个月
注册 446
健康)状况
介入

干预类型: 行为的

干预名称: CTI

描述: 基于变革的跨理论模型,基于网络的计算机化量身定制的戒烟干预措施(CTI)。

合格

标准:

入选标准: 男性和女性退伍军人,OIF / OEF服务人员首选18岁或以上 吸烟者具有短信功能的自带手机能够阅读和理解 初级英语水平的计算机知识访问具有Internet连接的计算机 排除标准: 缺乏基本的计算机知识不吸烟(包括使用无烟烟草)无法阅读 并理解英语无法访问具有Internet连接的计算机(如果没有,则适用 可以安排可以访问互联网的项目计算机)非文本用户 讯息功能

性别:

所有

最低年龄:

18年

最高年龄:

不适用

健康志愿者:

接受健康志愿者

总体官员
角色 联系
Patricia J Jordan, PhD Principal Investigator Pacific Health Research & Education Institute
位置
设施: VA Pacific Islands Health Care System
位置国家

美国

验证日期

2016-03-01

责任方

类型: 赞助

关键词
扩大了访问范围 没有
臂数 2
臂组

标签: CTI

类型: 实验性

描述: 基于变革的跨理论模型,基于网络的计算机化量身定制的戒烟干预措施(CTI)。

标签: CTI +文字

类型: 实验性

描述: 基于变革的跨理论模型,基于网络的计算机化量身定制的戒烟干预措施(CTI)。基于变化阶段的定制反馈消息也将通过手机发送。

首字母缩写 TXT
研究设计信息

分配: 随机化

干预模式: 阶乘分配

首要目标: 治疗

掩蔽: 无(打开标签)

This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact [email protected]. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.

Clinical Research News

Cell Phone-Based Expert Systems for Smoking Cessation

Cell Phone-Based Expert Systems for Smoking Cessation

Sponsors

Lead Sponsor: VA Pacific Islands Health Care System

Collaborator: U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command

Source VA Pacific Islands Health Care System
Brief Summary

This project aims to enhance the emotional and physical well-being of veterans through the reduction of smoking by utilizing a web-based, computerized tailored intervention (CTI) with feedback messages delivered via cell phone. CTIs have shown increasing promise as useful behavior change programs for improved health behaviors. A variety of modalities are to deliver personalized CTI information and feedback; however, the ubiquity and sophistication of today's wireless mobile technologies represent new modes of delivery for empirically based smoking cessation and other behavioral health interventions. The CTI is based on the empirically-supported Transtheoretical Model of Behavior Change (TTM). A web-based CTI modified for a veteran population will be used to pilot test the effectiveness of the CTI alone and CTI plus individualized text messaging enhancements. The pilot study is a randomized controlled trial to assess the cell phone's feasibility as an intervention modality for changing smoking behaviors. This will be the first study to adapt a smoking cessation Internet-based CTI to provide personalized feedback on a cell phone to reduce smoking behaviors in military veterans.

Detailed Description

Objective: This project examined the effectiveness of tailored text messages as an enhancement to a computerized tailored intervention (CTI) for smoking cessation with Veterans. It was theorized that the ubiquity and sophistication of today's wireless mobile technologies would represent new modes of delivery for empirically based smoking cessation and other behavioral health interventions. CTIs have shown increasing promise as useful behavior change programs for improved health behaviors; however, the ubiquity and sophistication of today's wireless mobile technologies represent new modes of delivery for evidence-based smoking cessation and other behavioral health interventions. The CTI was based on the Transtheoretical Model of Behavior Change (TTM) and developed by Pro-Change Behavior Systems, Inc. Research Design: This randomized, prospective pilot employed a 2 (group) x 3 (timepoint) research design. Veteran smokers were recruited nationally from direct mailings, Facebook ads, community newsletters, posters, and flyers. In addition to the randomized control trial (RCT), a focus group (n=9) and individual usability tests (n=5) were conducted in order to assess the acceptability of the graphic user interface, questions, tailoring and program content to Veteran smokers. The pilot study tested the effectiveness of the CTI alone and CTI plus individualized text messaging enhancements in reducing smoking behavior in Veterans. In addition to smoking cessation, readiness to change other negative health behaviors � such as alcohol use, healthy eating, and exercise � was also assessed. Summary of Research Methodology and Procedures: Usability Testing: Five separate usability tests were conducted for the CTI smoking cessation program using a combination of the Think Aloud protocol and Wizard of Oz approach. Usability testing software was used to take notes and record participant interactions with the program. Participants provided qualitative and quantitative feedback on overall presentation and usability of the program. All interview data were coded, categorized, and summarized in a feedback report so that revisions to the system could be adapted. Pilot Study: At all three timepoints, participants completed a brief Health Risk Intervention (HRI), two additional smoking assessments, and the smoking cessation (SC) intervention. The HRI assessment determined baseline readiness to change for smoking and several other related health behaviors, and the smoking cessation intervention provided assessment and feedback about participants' confidence to quit smoking, decisional balance, and use of various change strategies. Following the baseline HRI and SC intervention, the CTI system randomized participants into either the treatment group (Tx), who also received the CTI only, or the treatment-plus group (Tx-plus), who received the CTI and tailored text messages. The study was conducted as entirely anonymous. All participants were given three months' access to the web-based CTI system. The Tx participants received only the online feedback narratives/report that all participants received upon completion of the online Smoking Cessation intervention. Tx-plus participants also received individualized text messages on their cell phones 2-5 times per week (the number of messages correlated with the participant's stage of change) that provide expert guidance, encouragement, and reminders that support their smoking cessation efforts. Findings: Four-hundred and forty-six Veterans were recruited at baseline. All participants were active smokers, distributed across the stages of change as 11.9% in Precontemplation (n=53; not intending to change in the next 6 months); 63% in Contemplation (n=281; intending to change in the next 6 months), and 25.1% in Preparation (n=112; intending to change in the next 30 days). Two-hundred and thirty-five individuals (52.7%) completed the one-month and three-month follow-ups: n=116 in the treatment group (CTI only; Tx) and n=119 in the treatment-plus group (CTI plus text messages; Tx-plus). Results indicated that the CTI-plus-text-messaging intervention outperformed the CTI-only intervention at an unprecedented quit rate. For those participants in the Tx group 32.8% had quit smoking at three-month follow-up; however, those in the Tx-plus group had quit rates of 43.2%. These findings are highly encouraging, and exceed those quit rates found for other CTI interventions for both groups by almost 15% (Krebs, Prochaska & Rossi, 2010). Summary of Participant Experiences: While data are available only for those participants who completed the study, indications from the User Satisfaction Scale, as well as the open-ended questions, were that Veterans found the CTI and tailored text messages to be both appropriate and relevant. In addition, participants in the Tx-plus group also indicated that the text messages were helpful, timely and useful. There were no adverse events to report. Summary of Current Risk - Potential Benefit Assessment based on Study Results: This study was able to demonstrate that the TTM is an appropriate model to promote multiple behavior change in Veterans. Furthermore, the addition of tailored text messages increased the effect of the smoking cessation intervention (CTI) and improved quit rates in the Tx-plus group to levels that are unprecedented in the literature. Additionally, individuals who were at risk for other health behaviors progressed to A or M without intervention. For Veterans who are not ready for in-person psychotherapy, have practical issues attending therapy sessions, or fear stigma associated with seeking mental health care, this Veteran-tailored, motivational enhancement CTI may provide unique benefits. In addition, Veterans who smoke and have comorbid behavioral risk factors may find this CTI sufficient to resolve their problems. In this sense, the adapted CTI will make evidence-based mental health care more accessible to Veterans in need without adding concerns about stigma and costs. Impact/Significance: This is the Final Abstract for this research project. This study was the first to adapt a smoking cessation Internet-based CTI to provide personalized feedback on a cell phone to reduce smoking behaviors in military Veterans. The findings suggest that behavior change interventions can be successfully delivered to Veterans via the Internet, and that tailored text messaging can significantly enhance the intervention effects.

Overall Status Completed
Start Date 2009-09-01
Completion Date 2012-03-01
Primary Completion Date 2012-02-01
Phase Phase 1
Study Type Interventional
Primary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Smoking prevalence 3-months
Secondary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Stage of Change 3 months
Enrollment 446
Condition
Intervention

Intervention Type: Behavioral

Intervention Name: CTI

Description: Web-based computerized, tailored intervention (CTI) for smoking cessation, based on the transtheoretical model of change.

Eligibility

Criteria:

Inclusion Criteria: Male and female veterans, OIF/OEF service preferred 18 years or older Current cigarette smoker Own cell phone with text messaging capabilities Ability to read and comprehend English Beginner level computer literacy Access to a computer with Internet connectivity Exclusion Criteria: Lack of basic computer literacy Non-smoker (includes smokeless tobacco use) Unable to read and comprehend English No access to computer with Internet connectivity (applicable if no project computer with Internet access can be arranged) Non-owner of cell phone with text messaging capabilities

Gender:

All

Minimum Age:

18 Years

Maximum Age:

N/A

Healthy Volunteers:

Accepts Healthy Volunteers

Overall Official
Last Name Role Affiliation
Patricia J Jordan, PhD Principal Investigator Pacific Health Research & Education Institute
Location
Facility: VA Pacific Islands Health Care System
Location Countries

United States

Verification Date

2016-03-01

Responsible Party

Type: Sponsor

Keywords
Has Expanded Access No
Number Of Arms 2
Arm Group

Label: CTI

Type: Experimental

Description: Web-based computerized, tailored intervention (CTI) for smoking cessation, based on the transtheoretical model of change.

Label: CTI + text

Type: Experimental

Description: Web-based computerized, tailored intervention (CTI) for smoking cessation, based on the transtheoretical model of change. Tailored feedback messages based on stage of change will also be sent by cell phone.

Acronym TXT
Patient Data No
Study Design Info

Allocation: Randomized

Intervention Model: Factorial Assignment

Primary Purpose: Treatment

Masking: None (Open Label)

This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact [email protected]. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.

Clinical Research News