心脏手术后是否需要胰岛素才能预测患上糖尿病的风险

心脏手术后是否需要胰岛素才能预测患上糖尿病的风险

赞助商

首席赞助商: Hamad Medical Corporation

资源 Hamad Medical Corporation
简要总结

心脏手术的患者预后基本上与发生心脏病有关。 高血糖症。卡塔尔在全球糖尿病患病率中排名第五;此外,糖尿病患者包括 超过40%的患者接受了心脏外科重症监护病房(CTICU) 卡塔尔心脏医院。这种患病率高于世界其他地区。这些数字是 如果足够的话,预计到2030年会增加并发疾病的死亡率 干预将不会针对ICU和ICU中更好地控制血糖 住院。该项目的总体目标是探索免疫学特征 重症监护病房血糖控制不佳的患者留在卡塔尔。 '时间 范围内(TIR)用于定义ICU中的血糖控制, 范围内超过80%的时间(有或没有辩论)的结果比 时间范围小于80%TIR的那些。值得注意的是,关于伤口感染, 通风和ICU停留;他们也不是复发性低血糖发作的候选者。 术前高HbA1C可能是有效的血糖控制预测指标。 先前的研究表明,非糖尿病患者在面对压力时会转化为糖尿病 重大疾病。以前没有研究探索这种可能的心脏手术转换。 我们的主要目标将是确定是否血糖不良的非糖尿病患者 心脏手术中的控制将在以后发展为随后的糖尿病。调查人员将 3个月后对非糖尿病患者进行随访,以达到此目的。调查人员将 包括自以下时间起两年内将接受心脏手术的所有患者 糖化血红蛋白(HbA1C)证明没有糖尿病的证据。耐心 将进行长达一年的实验室调查,以记录他们是否愿意 是否患糖尿病。数据将被存储并进行统计分析。调查人员期望 详细了解在此高风险人群中可能发生的转变。

详细说明

重症患者经常患有急性高血糖症(血糖水平为 超过6.1 mmol / L(110 mg / dL)),并且在大约90%的ICU患者中观察到。 此外,预计超过80%的重症患者会出现胰岛素抵抗 下丘脑-垂体轴,交感神经性肾上腺素 系统和循环的促炎细胞因子,包括肿瘤坏死因子α (TNF-α)和白介素可调节压力时的高血糖症。 用急性生理和慢性健康评估得分(APACHE II)表示 严重程度,手术类型和格拉斯哥昏迷量表与儿茶酚胺和皮质醇相关 儿茶酚胺主要从肾上腺髓质释放出来。 假定是由于压力荷尔蒙激增(心血管,免疫和代谢) 旨在在压力下恢复体内平衡。过度的糖原分解, 糖异生和胰岛素抵抗是神经内分泌应激反应的特征。 肝脏肝脏葡萄糖输出增加的主要原因是应激性高血糖症的原因。 通过肝脏介导的肾上腺素和去甲肾上腺素激发糖异生和 糖原分解后者具有通过增加甘油供应的其他作用 肝脏脂肪分解。 另外,胰岛素抵抗的出现可能是由于脂肪因子的释放 在严重疾病期间来自脂肪组织。胰岛素信号转导的下降是 与不同分子直接磷酸化导致TNF-α增加有关 胰岛素信号通路从外周组织向免疫系统的葡萄糖再分配 感染过程中的细胞可能通过葡萄糖转运蛋白1和 葡萄糖转运蛋白-4。 危重病期间急性高血糖的病因包括 分泌额外的压力荷尔蒙并使用药物(类固醇,锂, 升压药,正性肌力药和β受体阻滞剂)。静脉注射葡萄糖溶液,过量喂养, 肠胃外营养以及抗生素和透析液也会引起高血糖症。 胰岛素缺乏或血容量不足也可能导致高血糖症。 即使没有明显的疾病也可以通过卧床休息增强抵抗力。 降低骨骼肌葡萄糖摄取。重症糖尿病患者的高血糖是 胰腺β细胞分泌障碍与胰岛素抵抗的整合。 重症患者高血糖的后果:在不同的ICU人群中 高血糖症的短期缺点包括通过糖尿症和 随后出现脱水。高血糖与白细胞异常有关, 可能损害补体途径。线粒体蛋白可能被破坏 高血糖,炎性途径的放大,先天免疫系统的改变以及 血管内皮功能下降,由于 高血糖会降低内皮一氧化氮和血管反应性。 高血糖会促进蛋白水解,并伴有心脏并发症的高风险, 心电改变,血液动力学损害,急性肾损伤和死亡。 因此,不良的临床结果和并发症与高血糖症有关。 血糖持续时间较长与小儿明显相​​关 以发病率和死亡率表示的人口结局。 在个别ICU人群中,高血糖和低血糖的风险增加 脓毒症患者。《生存脓毒症运动指南》建议保持血液 糖低于10mmol / L在神经重症监护中观察到神经功能改善 血糖控制较不严格(7.7-10mmol / L)的患者进行血糖控制。 在荟萃分析中对急性心肌梗死患者的高血糖进行了量化 术后,强化血糖控制可降低急性 心力衰竭,心肌梗塞和血管外科手术中的死亡。 心脏手术后观察感染和术后心房颤动。 适度的血糖控制。有趣的是,在最近的系统综述和荟萃分析中 应激性高血糖症与糖尿病患者随后患糖尿病的风险增加有关 危重症。以前没有研究经历糖尿病的未来发展或受损 心脏手术后的葡萄糖耐量。 1。 目的主要目的:发生糖尿病和糖尿病前期的事件。 术后应激性高血糖患者 2研究方法 -该研究将是一项前瞻性队列研究 -研究人员将选择将接受心脏手术的无糖尿病患者 手术中,患者将分为两组1) 重症监护病房血糖失控;和第2组)对 ICU设置中的血糖 -样本量将根据先前对重症患者的研究得出 耐心 -受试者纳入和排除标准纳入标准:1.成年男性和 18岁以上接受心脏手术的女性2.接受 执行研究方案并在整个试用期内参与 (参与前需获得批准),3.了解风险和收益 并签署书面知情同意书。排除标准: 糖尿病患者:拒绝参加或无法签署的患者 同意。 范围内的时间(TIR)将用于定义研究中的组,它是对 血糖保持在设定目标范围内的时间。 无需特殊要求就可以遇到的简便措施;因此,可能是 只需在任何ICU中使用,研究人员就会计算出静脉注射的总时间 静脉输注胰岛素(A)并且时间在设定的目标范围(B)之内 胰岛素输注并以TIR =(B / A)×100表示​​TIR。我们先前的研究表明 时间范围超过80%的患者(无论是否患有糖尿病) 如伤口感染所表明的,结果比那些时间少于80%的结果更好 并发症,机械通气时间和ICU住院时间。 不能再次发生降血糖发作。(27)结果指标 进入ICU时接受的评估包括年龄,性别,种族,糖尿病史, 糖化血红蛋白(HbA1C),高血压病史和手术类型。研究人员将 记录麻醉时间,体外循环时间(CPP),主动脉夹钳(ACC)时间, 正性肌力药和升压药的利用,输血,Euro SCORE,药物 包括(他汀类药物疗法,类固醇,升压药和正性肌力药)的机械长度 通气,在ICU的住院时间和医院的住院时间。 结果,包括急性肾损伤(AKI),术后房颤(POAF), 将报告每位患者的医院感染,中风,伤口感染和死亡。 将从建立的数据库Dendrite ClinicalSystems®(英国伦敦)中检索数据。 将比较糖尿病和非糖尿病亚组的结局,以及相关因素 将对血糖控制不佳的患者进行分析。 结果和随访计划在约三个月后计划门诊 重症监护病房出院。在这次访问时,研究人员将获得年龄,BMI,腰围 周长,饮食,运动,高血压病史以及家族史和个人史 血糖升高以计算芬兰糖尿病风险评分(FINDRISC)问卷。 (28)口服葡萄糖耐量试验(OGTT)将按照 世界卫生组织(WHO)葡萄糖负荷为75克,将根据以下情况诊断为糖尿病 符合美国糖尿病协会指南,即空腹血糖≥126 OGTT≥200 mg / dl(11.1mmol / L)和/或HbA1c时mg / dl(7mmol / L)和/或2小时血浆葡萄糖 ≥6.5%(48 mmol / L);当在怀孕期间2小时血浆葡萄糖水平下降时,表明葡萄糖耐量受损。 OGTT在140-200 mg / dl(7.7-11.1mmol / L)之间。空腹血糖受损定义为空腹 血浆葡萄糖在100-126 mg / dl(55.7mmol / L)之间。 主要结局将是非糖尿病患者中 心脏外科手术的次要结果是确定那些 非糖尿病患者,合并ICU住院,术后房颤的发病率增加 颤动(POAF),医院获得性感染和晚期伤口感染 描述性统计将用于总结和确定样本特征,以及 与人口统计,呈现体征和 症状,临床特征,术后结果指标等 正态分布 数据和结果将以均值和标准差(SD)报告,并带有相应的 95%置信区间(CI);其余结果将以中位数和 四分位间距(IQR)。分类数据将使用频率和 百分比。 本研究中数据分析的重点将是确定发展中的事件 术后应激性高血糖患者的糖尿病和糖尿病前期。 两个或多个定性变量之间的差异将使用卡方(χ2)或Fisher进行评估 适当的精确测试。两个独立小组之间的定量结果测量 根据数据的正态性使用不成对的t或Mann Whitney U检验进行分析 分布。血糖,血清胰岛素和其他相关物质的浓度-时间曲线 定量结果度量将作为曲线下的相应区域进行分析 (AUC)从基线到特定的基线后时间点,并进行跨组分析 (正常,糖尿病前期,糖尿病)通过线性回归进行,结果表示为 边缘群体均值(95%CI)和相关的p值。不同潜力的影响 协变量和因素将使用多元线性回归模型进行评估。 跨时间点数据的纵向变化将使用混合模型ANOVA进行分析。 糖尿病患者发生糖尿病与糖尿病前期的关系。 术后应激性高血糖症和主要的内在和外在危险因素(预测因素 或风险因素)将通过逻辑回归得出比值比(OR)进行估算 模型和结果将以比值比(OR)和相关的95%CI表示并报告 双向P值<0.05将被视为具有统计学意义。 分析将使用统计软件包SPSS 23.0(SPSS Inc.Chicago,IL)和Epi 信息2000(美国佐治亚州亚特兰大疾病控制与预防中心 美国 。

总体状况 尚未招聘
开始日期 2021-03-01
完成日期 2022-12-31
主要完成日期 2021-12-31
不适用
研究类型 介入性
主要结果
测量 大体时间
术后应激性高血糖患者发生糖尿病的发生率 3个月时
术后应激性高血糖患者发生糖尿病的发生率 在6个月时
术后应激性高血糖患者发生糖尿病前期的发生率 3个月时
术后应激性高血糖患者发生糖尿病前期的发生率 在6个月时
次要结果
测量 大体时间
其他发病率措施 长达一年
其他发病率措施 长达一年
其他发病率措施 长达一年
其他发病率措施 长达一年
注册 100
健康)状况
介入

干预类型: 诊断测试

干预名称: 在三个月的随访中检查糖尿病的发展

描述: 重症监护病房出院后约三个月,计划安排门诊。在这次访问时,我们将获得年龄,BMI,腰围,饮食,运动,高血压病史以及家族史和血糖升高的个人病史,以计算芬兰糖尿病风险评分(FINDRISC)问卷。 (28)口服葡萄糖耐量试验(OGTT)将根据世界卫生组织(WHO)的指南进行,葡萄糖负荷为75克。糖尿病将根据美国糖尿病协会指南进行诊断,即OGTT≥200 mg / dl(11.1mmol / L)时空腹血糖≥126mg / dl(7mmol / L)和/或2小时血浆葡萄糖或HbA1c≥6.5%(48 mmol / L);当在OGTT期间2小时血浆葡萄糖介于140-200 mg / dl(7.7-11.1mmol / L)之间时,注意到葡萄糖耐量受损。空腹血糖受损定义为空腹血糖在100-126 mg / dl(55.7mmol / L)之间。 (29)

其他名字: 在六个月的随访中检查糖尿病的发展

合格

标准:

入选标准: 1位18岁以上的成人患者接受了心脏外科手术, 排除标准: 1.糖尿病。 2.拒绝参加或不能签署知情同意书的患者。

性别: 全部

最低年龄: 18年

最高年龄: 80年

健康志愿者:

验证日期

2020-12-01

责任方

类型: 赞助

关键词
扩大了访问范围
臂数 2
臂组

标签: 时间范围少于80%的患者

类型: 主动比较器

描述: 更好的对照组

标签: 时间范围超过80%的患者

类型: 安慰剂比较器

描述: 不良对照组

研究设计信息

分配: 非随机化

干预模式: 并行分配

干预模型说明: 该研究将是一项前瞻性队列研究 我们将选择将接受心脏手术的无糖尿病患者,将其分为两组:1)ICU中血糖不受控制的患者;和第2组)在ICU设置中血糖控制适当的患者 样本量将根据先前对重症患者的研究计算得出

首要目标: 诊断

掩蔽: 双倍(参与者,结果评估者)

資料來源:ClinicalTrials.gov

Clinical Research News

Does Insulin Requirement Post Cardiac Surgery Predicts The Risk Of Developing Diabetes

Does Insulin Requirement Post Cardiac Surgery Predicts The Risk Of Developing Diabetes

Sponsors

Lead Sponsor: Hamad Medical Corporation

Source Hamad Medical Corporation
Brief Summary

The patient outcome in cardiac surgery is substantially linked to the occurrence of hyperglycemia. Qatar ranks 5th in the rate of diabetes globally; Moreover diabetics comprise more than 40% of patients admitted to the cardiac surgery intensive care unit (CTICU) in Qatar heart hospital. This prevalence is higher than the rest of the world. These numbers are projected to increase with accompanied morbidity-mortality hazardous by 2030 if the adequate intervention will not be directed towards better control of blood sugar within ICU and the hospital stay. The overall objective of this project is to explore the immunological profile in patients with poor glycemic control within their intensive care unit stay in Qatar. 'time in range' (TIR) was used for defining glycemic control within the ICU, where patients with time in range more than 80%, (in presence or absence of debates), had better outcomes than those with time in range less than 80% TIR. Notably, regarding wound infection, lengths of ventilation and ICU stay; they were not candidates to recurrent hypoglycemic episodes also. The high HbA1C preoperatively is probably a valid forecaster of indigent glycemic control. Previous studies demonstrated conversion of non-diabetics to diabetics when they face stress of critical illness. No previous studies explored this possible conversion cardiac surgery. Our primary objectives will be to determine whether non-diabetic patients with poor glycemic control in cardiac surgery would develop subsequent diabetes later on. Investigators will follow up non-diabetics patients after 3 months to satisfy this aim. Investigators will include all patients who will undergo cardiac surgery over two years from the time of approval without evidence of diabetes as documented by glycated hemoglobin (HbA1C). Patients will be followed up to one year with laboratory investigations to document whether they will develop diabetes or not. Data will be stored and statistically analyzed. Investigators expect to have details about the possible conversion in this high-risk population.

Detailed Description

Critically ill patients frequently suffer from acute hyperglycemia, (a blood glucose level of more than 6.1 mmol/L (110 mg/dL)) and is observed in around 90 percent of ICU patients. Additionally, insulin resistance is expected in more than 80 percent of the critically ill which contributes to the problem. The hypothalamic-pituitary axis, sympathetic adrenergic system, and circulating pro-inflammatory cytokines including tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF-α) and interleukins modulate hyperglycemia during stress. The seriousness of illness as expressed by the acute physiology and chronic health evaluation score (APACHE II), injury severity, surgery type and the Glasgow Coma Scale correlate with catecholamine and cortisol levels. Catecholamines are released mainly from the adrenal medulla. Multiple effects are assumed to be due to the surge of stress hormones (cardiovascular, immune and metabolic) targeting restoration of homeostasis during stress. Excessive glycogenolysis, gluconeogenesis, and insulin resistance characterize the neuroendocrine stress response. Increased hepatic output of glucose is predominantly the reason of stress hyperglycemia. Mediated through the liver adrenaline and noradrenaline excite gluconeogenesis and glycogenolysis; the latter has additional effects of enhancing glycerol provisions through lipolysis in the liver. Additionally, the emergence of insulin resistance could be due to the release of adipokines from adipose tissue during critical illness. Downgrading of insulin signal transduction is associated with increased TNF-α due to phosphorylation of different molecules straight over the path of insulin-signaling. Glucose redistribution from peripheral tissues towards immune cells during infection could be mediated by variable regulation of glucose transporter-1 and glucose transporter-4. Contributing factors for acute hyperglycemia during critical illness includes the concomitant secretion of additional stress hormones and the use of medications (steroids, lithium, vasopressors, inotropes and β-blockers). Intravenous glucose solutions, overfeeding, parenteral nutrition, and antibiotic and dialysis solutions, also precipitate hyperglycemia. Insulin deficiency or hypovolemia may also lead to hyperglycemia. Peripheral insulin resistance could be promoted with bed rest even without an obvious disease. Bed rest causes reduced skeletal muscle glucose uptake. Hyperglycemia in critically ill diabetics is an integration of pancreatic β-cell secretory disorders and insulin resistance. Consequences of hyperglycemia in the Critically ill patients: in different ICU populations Short-term drawbacks of hyperglycemia include effects on fluid balance through glycosuria and subsequently dehydration. Hyperglycemia associated with white blood cell abnormalities which could impair the complement pathway. Mitochondrial protein could be damaged with hyperglycemia, amplification of inflammatory pathways, altered innate immune system, and downgrading of endothelial functions. The peripheral blood flow could be compromised due to the reduction in endothelial nitric oxide and vascular reactivity with hyperglycemia. Acute hyperglycemia boosts proteolysis and is accompanied by a high risk of cardiac complications, electro-myocardial alteration, hemodynamic compromise, acute kidney injury, and death. Therefore poor clinical outcome and complications are associated with hyperglycemia. The persistence of hyperglycemia for a longer time distinctly associated with pediatric population outcome as expressed by morbidity and mortality. In Individual ICU populations, the risk of hyperglycemia and hypoglycemia increased in patients with sepsis. The Surviving Sepsis Campaign Guidelines recommend keeping the blood sugar below 10mmol/L. In neuro-critical care improved neurological outcome was observed with glucose control in patients, with a less strict glycemic target (7.7-10mmol/L). The impact of hyperglycemia was quantified in a meta-analysis for patients who had acute myocardial infarction. Postoperatively, intensive glucose control was associated with reduced acute heart failure, myocardial infarction, and death in vascular surgeries. Reduced death, infections and post-operative atrial fibrillation were observed after cardiac surgery with moderate blood sugar control. Interestingly, in a recent systemic review and meta-analysis stress hyperglycemia was associated with increased risk of subsequent diabetes in the critically ill. No previous studies went through future development of diabetes or impaired glucose tolerance after cardiac surgeries. 1. Objectives Primary objective : incident of developing diabetes and pre diabetes in patient with post operative stress hyperglycemia 2. Study Methodology - The study will be a prospective cohort study - Investigators will select patient without diabetes who will undergo cardiac surgery, patient will be divided into two groups group 1) Patients with uncontrolled blood sugar in the ICU; and group 2) patient with adequate control of blood sugar in ICU settings - The sample size will be calculated based on previous studies in critically ill patients - Subject inclusion and exclusion criteria Inclusion criteria: 1. Adult males and females above the age of 18 years subjected to cardiac surgery, 2. Acceptance to perform the study protocol and participate throughout the whole trial period (consent approval prior to participation), 3. Understanding the risks and benefits of the study and having signed a written informed consent. Exclusion criteria: Diabetics. Patients who refuse to participate or who /can not sign informed consent. Time in range (TIR), will be used to define the groups within the study, it is a measure of time where the blood glucose stays within the set target range. Our group point that it is it an easy measure that could be encountered without specific demands; therefore, it could be simply utilized in any ICU. Investigators will calculate the whole time of intravenous insulin infusion (A) and the time being within the set goal range (B) during intravenous insulin infusion and expressed TIR as TIR = (B/A) × 100. Our previous study showed that patients with more than 80% time in range, whether or not they had existing diabetes, had better outcomes than those with less than 80% time in range, as expressed by wound infection complication, duration of mechanical ventilation, and ICU length of stay. In addition, they were not candidates for recurrent hypoglycemic attacks. (27) Outcome measures Factors assessed at admission to the ICU will include age, gender, ethnicity, diabetes history, glycated hemoglobin (HbA1C), hypertension history, and surgery type. Investigators will record anesthesia time, cardiopulmonary bypass time (CPP), aortic cross clamp (ACC) time, utilization of inotropes and vasopressors, blood transfusion, Euro SCORE, medications including (statin therapy, steroids, vasopressors, and inotropes) length of mechanical ventilation, length of stay in the ICU and the hospital length of stay. Complications and outcomes, including acute kidney injury (AKI), post-operative atrial fibrillation (POAF), nosocomial infection, stroke, wound infection, and death, will reported for each patient. Data will be retrieved from an established database Dendrite Clinical Systems® (London, UK). Outcomes will be compared in subgroups of diabetics and non-diabetics, and factors associated with poor glycemic control will be analyzed. Outcomes and follow up An outpatient visit will be planned approximately three months after ICU discharge. At the time of this visit, Investigators will obtain age, BMI, waist circumference, diet, exercise, history of hypertension and family and personal history of elevated blood glucose to calculate the Finnish diabetes risk score (FINDRISC) questionnaire. (28) Oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) will be performed according to the guidelines of the World Health Organization (WHO) with 75-g glucose load. Diabetes will be diagnosed according to the American Diabetes Association guidelines that stat fasting plasma glucose ≥126 mg/dl(7mmol/L) and/or 2-h plasma glucose during the OGTT ≥200 mg/dl (11.1mmol/L) and/or HbA1c ≥6.5 % (48 mmol/L); impaired glucose tolerance is noted when 2-h plasma glucose during the OGTT is between 140-200 mg/dl (7.7-11.1mmol/L). Impaired fasting glucose defined as fasting plasma glucose between 100-126 mg/dl (55.7mmol/L). The primary outcome will be the percentage of development of diabetes in non-diabetics after cardiac surgery The secondary outcome will be to identify whether those patients who are non-diabetics associated with increased morbidity in terms of ICU stay, post-operative atrial fibrillation (POAF), hospital acquired infections, and late wound infections Descriptive statistics will be used to summarize and determine the sample characteristics and distribution of various considered parameters related to demographic, presenting signs and symptoms, clinical features, post-operative outcome measures etc. The normally distributed data and results will be reported with mean and standard deviation (SD) with corresponding 95% confidence interval (CI); the remaining results will be reported with median and inter-quartile range (IQR). Categorical data will be summarized using frequencies and percentages. The focus of the data analysis in this study will be to determine the incident of developing diabetes and pre diabetes in patient with post-operative stress hyperglycemia. Associations between two or more qualitative variables will be assessed using Chi-square (χ2) or Fisher Exact tests as appropriate. Quantitative outcome measures between two independent groups will be analyzed using unpaired t or Mann Whitney U test depending on the normality of the data distribution. Concentration-time profiles for blood glucose, serum insulin and other related quantitative outcome measures will be analyzed as their respective areas under the curve (AUC) from baseline to specific post-baseline time points, with analysis across groups (normal, prediabetes, diabetes) performed by linear regression, with results presented as the marginal group means (95% CI) and associated p value. The impact of different potential covariates and factors will be assessed using multivariate linear regression model. Longitudinal changes in data across time points will be analyzed using a mixed model ANOVA. The relationship between incident of developing diabetes and pre diabetes in patient with post-operative stress hyperglycemia and main intrinsic and extrinsic risk factors (predictor or risk factors) will be estimated by deriving odds ratios (ORs) from logistic regression model and results will be presented and reported in odds ratio (OR) and associated 95% CI. A two-sided P value <0.05 will be considered to be statistically significant. All statistical analyses will be done using statistical packages SPSS 23.0 (SPSS Inc. Chicago, IL) and Epi Info 2000 (Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia, United States of America

Overall Status Not yet recruiting
Start Date March 1, 2021
Completion Date December 31, 2022
Primary Completion Date December 31, 2021
Phase N/A
Study Type Interventional
Primary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Incidence of developing diabetes in patient with post operative stress hyperglycemia at 3 months
Incidence of developing diabetes in patient with post operative stress hyperglycemia at 6 months
Incidence of developing pre diabetes in patient with post operative stress hyperglycemia at 3 months
Incidence of developing pre diabetes in patient with post operative stress hyperglycemia at 6 months
Secondary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
other morbidity measures up to 1 year
other morbidity measures up to 1 year
other morbidity measures up to 1 year
other morbidity measures up to 1 year
Enrollment 100
Condition
Intervention

Intervention Type: Diagnostic Test

Intervention Name: Checking diabetes development in follow up at 3 month

Description: An outpatient visit will be planned approximately three months after ICU discharge. At the time of this visit, we will obtain age, BMI, waist circumference, diet, exercise, history of hypertension and family and personal history of elevated blood glucose to calculate the Finnish diabetes risk score (FINDRISC) questionnaire. (28) Oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) will be performed according to the guidelines of the World Health Organization (WHO) with 75-g glucose load. Diabetes will be diagnosed according to the American Diabetes Association guidelines that stat fasting plasma glucose ≥126 mg/dl(7mmol/L) and/or 2-h plasma glucose during the OGTT ≥200 mg/dl (11.1mmol/L) and/or HbA1c ≥6.5 % (48 mmol/L); impaired glucose tolerance is noted when 2-h plasma glucose during the OGTT is between 140-200 mg/dl (7.7-11.1mmol/L). Impaired fasting glucose defined as fasting plasma glucose between 100-126 mg/dl (55.7mmol/L). (29)

Other Name: Checking diabetes development in follow up at 6 month

Eligibility

Criteria:

Inclusion Criteria: 1-Adult patients above the age of 18 years subjected to cardiac surgery, Exclusion criteria: 1. Diabetics. 2. Patients who refuse to participate or who /can not sign informed consent.

Gender: All

Minimum Age: 18 Years

Maximum Age: 80 Years

Healthy Volunteers: No

Verification Date

December 2020

Responsible Party

Type: Sponsor

Keywords
Has Expanded Access No
Condition Browse
Number Of Arms 2
Arm Group

Label: patients with less than 80% time in range

Type: Active Comparator

Description: Better control group

Label: patients with more than 80% time in range

Type: Placebo Comparator

Description: poor control group

Patient Data No
Study Design Info

Allocation: Non-Randomized

Intervention Model: Parallel Assignment

Intervention Model Description: The study will be a prospective cohort study We will select patient without diabetes who will undergo cardiac surgery, patient will be divided into two groups group 1) Patients with uncontrolled blood sugar in the ICU; and group 2) patient with adequate control of blood sugar in ICU settings The sample size will be calculated based on previous studies in critically ill patients

Primary Purpose: Diagnostic

Masking: Double (Participant, Outcomes Assessor)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov