Incidence of Incomplete Postoperative Neuromuscular Recovery From Anesthesia (P07535)(Completed) (INSPIRE)
Incidence of Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade - A Multicenter, Observational Study in Portugal
Study Overview
Status
Status
Conditions
Conditions
Intervention / Treatment
Intervention / Treatment
Study Type
Study Type
Enrollment (Actual)
Enrollment
Participation Criteria
Eligibility Criteria
Eligibility Criteria
Ages Eligible for Study
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
Genders Eligible for Study
Sampling Method
Study Population
Description
Inclusion Criteria:
- 18 years of age or older
- Informed consent signed
- Admission for elective surgery
- Administration of nondepolarizing NMBAs during surgery
Exclusion Criteria:
- Admission for emergency surgery
- Reoperation on the same hospital admission
Study Plan
How is the study designed?
Design Details
- Observational Models: Cohort
Number of groups / cohorts
Cohorts and Interventions
Group / CohortGroup / Cohort |
Intervention / TreatmentIntervention / Treatment |
|---|---|
|
P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio <0.9
Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio <0.9 at PACU arrival.
|
While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol.
|
|
P07535 study participants with a TOF ratio ≥0.9
Participants enrolled in the P07535 study who are included in the primary outcome measurement, which is defined as the incidence of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade, who had a TOF ratio ≥0.9 at PACU arrival.
|
While neuromuscular blockade drug(s) are involved in this study prior to actual study initiation (this is an observational study), it should be noted that the identity, combination(s), and dosages of these drugs (also referred to as general anesthesia drug[s]) are not specified in the protocol.
|
What is the study measuring?
Primary Outcome Measures
Primary Outcome Measures
Outcome Measure |
Measure Description |
Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
|
Number of Participants With Train-of-four (TOF) Ratio <0.9 at PACU Arrival
Time Frame: Upon arrival in the PACU
|
The incidence of incomplete postoperative neuromuscular recovery from general anesthesia was assessed in study participants upon arrival in the PACU, after their respective surgical procedures were completed.
Neuromuscular functioning was assessed by applying repetitive TOF electrical stimulations to the ulnar nerve every 15 seconds and assessing twitch response at the adductor pollicis muscle.
The TOF ratio is the ratio of the magnitude of the fourth twitch to that of the first twitch, and a ratio <0.9 indicates residual neuromuscular blockade (incomplete neuromuscular recovery).
|
Upon arrival in the PACU
|
Secondary Outcome Measures
Secondary Outcome Measures
Outcome Measure |
Measure Description |
Time Frame |
|---|---|---|
|
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Identified Neuromuscular Blocking Agents
Time Frame: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
|
Neuromuscular blocking agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded.
The number of participants who received atracurium, cisatracurium, rocuronium or vecuronium is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
|
From start of surgery through PACU arrival
|
|
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Propofol or Sevoflurane
Time Frame: From start of surgery through PACU arrival
|
Anesthetic agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded.
The number of participants who received propofol or sevoflurane is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
|
From start of surgery through PACU arrival
|
|
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade Who Received Neuromuscular Blockade Reversal Agents
Time Frame: From end of surgery through PACU arrival, an expected average of 10 minutes
|
Neuromuscular blockade reversal agents administered to participants undergoing surgical procedures were recorded.
The number of participants who received such an agent is presented, for participants with and without residual neuromuscular blockade.
|
From end of surgery through PACU arrival, an expected average of 10 minutes
|
|
Number of Participants With and Without Postoperative Residual Neuromuscular Blockade With Postoperative Events
Time Frame: From end of surgery through hospital discharge, an expected average of 6 days
|
From end of surgery through hospital discharge, an expected average of 6 days
|
Collaborators and Investigators
Sponsor
Sponsor
Publications and helpful links
Study record dates
Study Major Dates
Study Start
Study Start
Primary Completion (Actual)
Primary Completion
Study Completion (Actual)
Study Completion
Study Registration Dates
First Submitted
First Submitted
First Submitted That Met QC Criteria
First Submitted That Met QC Criteria
First Posted (Estimate)
First Posted
Study Record Updates
Last Update Posted (Estimate)
Last Update Posted
Last Update Submitted That Met QC Criteria
Last Update Submitted That Met QC Criteria
Last Verified
Last Verified
More Information
Terms related to this study
Additional Relevant MeSH Terms
Other Study ID Numbers
Other Study ID Numbers
- P07535
This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact register@clinicaltrials.gov. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.