L'effet des vidéos explicatives préopératoires dans la hernioplastie inguinale extra-péritonéale totale sur la fourniture d'informations: un essai contrôlé randomisé multicentrique

Bénéfice potentiel de la fourniture d'informations et influence sur l'anxiété et la satisfaction des patients par le biais de vidéos explicatives préopératoires dans la hernioplastie inguinale extra-péritonéale totale: un essai contrôlé randomisé multicentrique

Sponsors

Commanditaire principal: Kantonsspital Winterthur KSW

La source Kantonsspital Winterthur KSW
Bref résumé

L'utilisation des médias électroniques pour donner un consentement éclairé est devenue de plus en plus importante ces dernières années. En raison de l'accès facile à l'information via les médias électroniques, les patients sont amorcé de manière hétérogène sur les attentes et les souhaits en matière de chirurgie interventions. Inhérentes à sa nature, les interventions électives sont mises en question il y a du temps pour la collecte d'informations et la réflexion.

Dans cette étude, les enquêteurs ont entrepris d'étudier l'effet d'une vidéo éducative comme un élément de soutien dans le processus de consentement éclairé donnant pour l'un des a effectué des interventions en chirurgie générale, à savoir la réparation d'une hernie inguinale.

Dans une configuration multicentrique, les patients éligibles pour la réparation primaire de la hernie inguinale seront assignés au hasard à 1 des 3 groupes. La vidéo d'intervention présente les principes de base réparation endoscopique d'une hernie extra-péritonéale. La deuxième vidéo est similaire en longueur et en design et affiche les aspects généraux de la chirurgie d'un jour dans les deux centres d'étude. Le lien du troisième groupe conduira à la version numérique du consentement éclairé. Les résultats principaux comprendront 1) score dans un test à choix multiples évaluant le gain de connaissances concernant la réparation de la hernie, 2) différence entre l'inventaire d'anxiété State-Trait (STAI) et 3) la satisfaction des patients questionnaire (ICF, Picker Institute, Allemagne) tel qu'évalué 1 à 2 jours après le premier consultation.

Situation globale Pas encore de recrutement
Date de début Septembre 2020
Date d'achèvement Juillet 2022
Date d'achèvement principale Juillet 2021
Phase N / A
Type d'étude Interventionnel
Résultat primaire
Mesure Plage de temps
Score au test à choix multiples évalué 1 à 2 jours après l'allocation / exposition du groupe
Résultat secondaire
Mesure Plage de temps
Spielberg State-Trait Anxiety Inventory (STAI) assessed 1-2 days after group allocation/exposure
Rétroaction individuelle des cliniciens (ICF) évalué 30 jours après l'opération lors de la visite de suivi
Échelle de notation numérique (NRS) évalué 3 mois après l'opération
Inscription 183
État
Intervention

Type d'intervention: Other

Nom de l'intervention: Explanatory video

La description: Links to explanatory videos handed out to patients to be watched at home after standard informed consent giving

Type d'intervention: Autre

Nom de l'intervention: Formulaire de consentement éclairé

La description: Liens vers une version numérique du formulaire de consentement éclairé déjà discuté au cours du processus de consentement éclairé.

Étiquette du groupe d'armements: Groupe de contrôle

Admissibilité

Critères:

Critère d'intégration:

- hernie unilatérale ou bilatérale avec indication d'un traitement chirurgical

- formulaire de consentement éclairé signé pour la participation à l'essai

Critère d'exclusion:

- Patients ayant subi une intervention chirurgicale pour une hernie inguinale ou fémorale ipsi ou controlatérale

- interventions combinées (réparation de hernie ombilicale et inguinale, par exemple)

- un handicap cognitif, audiovisuel ou linguistique suscitant le souci de compréhension du projet de recherche

Le sexe: Tout

Âge minimum: 18 ans

Âge maximum: N / A

Volontaires en santé: Non

Officiel général
Nom de famille Rôle Affiliation
Christian Gingert, MD Principal Investigator Cantonal Hospital Winterthur, Department of Surgery
Contact général

Nom de famille: Fabian Lunger, MD,PhD

Téléphone: +41 052 266 21 21

Email: [email protected]

Date de vérification

Juillet 2020

Partie responsable

Type: Parrainer

Mots clés
A un accès étendu Non
Parcourir l'état
Nombre d'armes 3
Groupe d'armes

Étiquette: Hernia video

Type: Active Comparator

La description: The video of the intervention group will provide a short (< 5 min) summary explaining the basic principles of endoscopic extraperitoneal hernia repair, its possible complications and the postoperative course. After carefully watching the video, participants should be able to correctly answer to a multiple-choice test consisting of 12 questions related to the aforementioned topics.

Étiquette: Vidéo simulée

Type: Comparateur de placebo

La description: Cette vidéo est une documentation générale de la journée "typique" de chirurgie en clinique de jour. Les informations se limitent essentiellement à la représentation picturale des différents services que le patient traversera lors de l'opération (arrivée à la clinique, admission, transport au bloc opératoire, salle de réveil, sortie). La vidéo ne transporte explicitement aucune information qui pourrait être utile pour répondre aux questions du quiz ou pour la compréhension médicale de l'opération elle-même.

Étiquette: Groupe de contrôle

Type: Comparateur de faux

La description: Le lien du troisième groupe conduit à une version numérique de la fiche d'information, qui a déjà été discutée avec tous les patients lors de la discussion sur le consentement éclairé. La version numérique du formulaire de consentement éclairé permet au patient de relire les informations. Le troisième groupe correspond donc à la norme de soins.

Données patient Non
Informations sur la conception de l'étude

Allocation: Randomisé

Modèle d'intervention: Affectation parallèle

Objectif principal: Recherche sur les services de santé

Masquage: Quadruple (participant, fournisseur de soins, chercheur, évaluateur des résultats)

La source: ClinicalTrials.gov

The Effect of Preoperative Explanatory Videos in Total Extraperitoneal Inguinal Hernioplasty on Information Providing: a Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial

Potential Benefit in Information Providing and Influence on Patient Anxiety and Satisfaction by Means of Preoperative Explanatory Videos in Total Extraperitoneal Inguinal Hernioplasty: a Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial

Sponsors

Lead Sponsor: Kantonsspital Winterthur KSW

Source Kantonsspital Winterthur KSW
Brief Summary

The use of electronic media in informed consent giving has become increasingly important in recent years. Due to the easy access to information via electronical media, patients are primed in a heterogeneous manner concerning expectations and wishes regarding surgical interventions. Inherent to its nature elective interventions are critically questioned as there is time for information gathering and reflection.

In this study, the investigators set out to investigate the effect of an educational video as a supporting element in the process of informed consent giving for one the most frequently performed interventions in general surgery, namely inguinal hernia repair.

In a multi-center setup, eligible patients for primary inguinal hernia repair will be randomly assigned to 1 of 3 groups. The intervention video provides basic principles of endoscopic extraperitoneal hernia repair. The second video is similar in length and design and displays general aspects of day surgery in the two study centres. The third group's link will lead to the digital version of the informed consent. Primary outcomes will consist of 1) score in a multiple choice test assessing gain of knowledge regarding hernia repair, 2) difference in the State-Trait Anxiety Inventory (STAI) and 3) patient satisfaction questionnaire (ICF, Picker Institute, Germany) as assessed 1-2 days after the first consultation.

Overall Status Not yet recruiting
Start Date September 2020
Completion Date July 2022
Primary Completion Date July 2021
Phase N/A
Study Type Interventional
Primary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Score in multiple-choice-test assessed 1-2 days after group allocation/exposure
Secondary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Spielberg State-Trait Anxiety Inventory (STAI) assessed 1-2 days after group allocation/exposure
Individual Clinician Feedback (ICF) assessed 30 days postoperatively at follow-up visit
Numerical rating scale (NRS) assessed 3 months postoperatively
Enrollment 183
Condition
Intervention

Intervention Type: Other

Intervention Name: Explanatory video

Description: Links to explanatory videos handed out to patients to be watched at home after standard informed consent giving

Intervention Type: Other

Intervention Name: Informed consent form

Description: Links to a digital version of the informed consent form already discussed during the process of informed consent giving.

Arm Group Label: Control group

Eligibility

Criteria:

Inclusion Criteria:

- unilateral or bilateral hernia with indication for surgical therapy

- signed informed consent form for trial participation

Exclusion Criteria:

- Patients who have had surgery for ipsi- or contralateral inguinal or femoral hernia

- combination interventions (umbilical and inguinal hernia repair, e.g.)

- cognitive, audio-visual or linguistic handicap raising concern of complete understanding of the research project

Gender: All

Minimum Age: 18 Years

Maximum Age: N/A

Healthy Volunteers: No

Overall Official
Last Name Role Affiliation
Christian Gingert, MD Principal Investigator Cantonal Hospital Winterthur, Department of Surgery
Overall Contact

Last Name: Fabian Lunger, MD,PhD

Phone: +41 052 266 21 21

Email: [email protected]

Verification Date

July 2020

Responsible Party

Type: Sponsor

Keywords
Has Expanded Access No
Condition Browse
Number Of Arms 3
Arm Group

Label: Hernia video

Type: Active Comparator

Description: The video of the intervention group will provide a short (< 5 min) summary explaining the basic principles of endoscopic extraperitoneal hernia repair, its possible complications and the postoperative course. After carefully watching the video, participants should be able to correctly answer to a multiple-choice test consisting of 12 questions related to the aforementioned topics.

Label: Mock video

Type: Placebo Comparator

Description: This video is a general documentation of the "typical" day of surgery in the day clinic. The information is essentially limited to the pictorial representation of the individual wards which the patient will pass through during the operation (arrival at the clinic, admission, transport to the operating theatre, recovery room, discharge). The video explicitly does not transport any information that could be helpful for answering the quiz questions or for medical understanding of the operation itself.

Label: Control group

Type: Sham Comparator

Description: The link of the third group leads to a digital version of the information sheet, which has already been discussed with all patients during the informed consent discussion. The digital version of the informed consent form allows the patient to read the information again. The third group thus corresponds to the standard of care.

Patient Data No
Study Design Info

Allocation: Randomized

Intervention Model: Parallel Assignment

Primary Purpose: Health Services Research

Masking: Quadruple (Participant, Care Provider, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov