雄激素受体,对健康和福祉的影响:对雄激素不敏感者的自然史研究

雄激素受体,对健康和福祉的影响:对雄激素不敏感者的自然史研究

赞助商

首席赞助商: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

资源 National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
简要总结

背景: 人体中的雄激素作用通常(但并非总是)由雄激素受体介导 它由雄激素受体基因(AR基因)编码。雄激素不敏感综合征 (AIS)是一种罕见的疾病,在这种情况下,人体无法感觉到血液中 组织。男性和女性都可能受到AIS的影响。研究人员想进一步了解 随着时间的推移,AIS患者的健康状况。 通过对具有AIS的个体进行自然史研究,数据和测试可能会提供信息 关于健康风险(包括性腺切除术的风险和证据以及最佳方法) 监测肿瘤)并优化AIS患者的治疗方法,并缩短 雄激素受体在人类健康中的作用。这项研究不涉及任何干预措施 我们可以在收集数据的同时提供临床护理。 客观的: 最初自然史研究的目的是描述和定义一个全面的 基于确认的雄激素受体(AR)的AIS患者的表型(特征) 基因差异。我们将评估激素,骨密度和标志物,心血管疾病和 代谢参数,以及生活质量和肿瘤形成的风险和评估。这 目的是为了更好地了解AIS患者的整体健康问题 可能有通过列出的学习程序。 合格: 年龄在0-99岁之间且有AIS及其成年亲属的人 设计: 参加者将经历一系列研究程序,以收集数据和收集标本。 最初是为了了解AIS如何影响个体,因为雄激素受体是 在人体的许多组织中发现,包括皮肤,骨骼,肌肉和神经,免疫 和代谢系统。所有测试将由熟练且训练有素的研究人员执行 专业人士。 参加者将被筛选: 病史 体检 病历审查 实验室测试。 参加者将进行身体检查。他们的身体将被测量。他们会有 血液和尿液检查。他们将有心电图检查心脏健康。他们可能会 完成问卷。他们可能进行了口服葡萄糖耐量测试。 参与者可能会拍到手,腕部和其他骨骼的X射线。 参与者将进行身体扫描以测量骨骼厚度。 参与者将进行骨盆的磁共振成像(MRI)或超声检查。 他们可能会通过静脉(IV)导管获得造影剂。 成人参加者可能有以下情况: MR弹性成像。它使用MRI和附加振动来代替人体组织的刚度。 MR光谱。它使用MRI为肝脏和体内异常中的化学物质截图。 心脏计算机断层扫描。它使用X射线对心脏进行拍摄。参加者 可能会通过IV获得造影剂。 初步的生殖器检查。 参加者将每1-2年访问一次。参与无限期地持续。 成年亲戚也将被邀请参加,但只有1次探访。它会 包括上述一些测试。

详细说明

人体中的雄激素作用通常(但并非总是)由雄激素受体介导 它由雄激素受体基因(AR基因)编码。具有以下异常的个人 该受体基因可出现雄激素不敏感综合症(AIS)。有一个 多种表型,包括完全雌性表型(完全雄激素不敏感或 CAIS),部分雄激素不敏感症(PAIS)和男性的生殖器歧义 表型与轻度尿道下裂的尿道下裂的不孕症相关。完全雄激素 不敏感是一种罕见病,估计发病可能会增加1:20,000-64,000,而PAIS 仍然很少见,对轻度AIS的研究很可能不足而其流行程度。 传统上,拥有完整和部分AIS的个人会出现一些管理难题 他们已经进行了性腺切除术,植入性腺肿瘤和青春期 伴有PAIS的女孩中的男性化。因为这是一种罕见的情况,所以关于 性腺切除术的风险和并发症,以及性腺切除术后的最佳激素替代品 这些情况下个体的整体健康状况。 在人体的许多组织中发现,包括皮肤,骨骼,肌肉和神经,免疫 和代谢系统。最后,一些麻醉药激素的作用可能是通过其他机制 而不是AR受体,这些还没有被很好地理解。个人自然史研究 AIS可能会提供有关健康风险和个人最佳管理的信息 AIS以及造成雄性激素受体在人类健康中的作用。

总体状况 招募中
开始日期 2021-05-19
完成日期 2040-02-01
主要完成日期 2040-02-01
研究类型 厨师苏科
主要结果
测量 大体时间
定义和描述500名雄激素不敏感患者的综合表型 学习结束
次要结果
测量 大体时间
Evaluate Bone Health in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
对雄激素不敏感者的代谢评估 学习结束
对雄激素不敏感者的性腺肿瘤评估 学习结束
雄激素不敏感者的生活质量测量(QoL) 学习结束
激素治疗对雄激素不敏感者的影响 学习结束
注册 650
健康)状况
合格

取样方式:

非概率样本

标准:

-部分标准: AIS学科的入学标准 为了有资格参加这项研究,一个人必须满足所有 符合以下条件: 1.年龄介于0-99岁且患有雄激素不敏感的个体(基于病理) 雄激素受体基因突变 2.识别为男性还是女性 3.完全,部分和轻度雄激素不敏感的患者均符合条件 4.声明愿意遵守所有学习程序和适用性 研究时间 5.对象或监护人的理解能力以及签署和注明日期的预期 书面知情同意文件。 相对于AIS环氧树脂的入选标准 1)AIS患者的成人亲属 排除标准: AIS票据的排除标准 1.符合以下任一条件的个人将被排除在外 参与本研究:具有其他诊断(例如部分或完全)的患者 性腺发育不全,5-α还原酶缺乏症和46 XY。如果遵循 诊断性检查,确定患者除46 XY DSD另外还有其他原因 雄激素不敏感的他们将不再逐步进行逐步遵循此协议。他们会 有机会根据《数据收集协议》继续与团队合作 或可以转介给社区中的专家或多学科DSD团队 2.患有非内分泌疾病的患者。 相对于AIS环氧树脂的排除标准 1)非内分泌疾病严重的患者。 包括弱势参与者 儿童参与 由于AIS通常在生命早期就被诊断出并具有 对青春期和发育的影响。将尽一切努力保护儿童的权利 和安全。 员工参与 由于该人群符合研究要求,因此NIH员工可能会参加本研究 标准。 参与或拒绝参与研究都不会产生任何后果。 对参与者在NIH的工作或职位的有利或不利影响。

性别:

全部

最低年龄:

不适用

最高年龄:

:지하는하는지설문지:경로에표를표를하하정하기조종설문설문:::

健康志愿者:

接受健康志愿者

总体官员
角色 联系
Veronica Gomez-Lobo, M.D. Principal Investigator Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
总体联系方式

姓: Veronica Gomez-Lobo, M.D.

电话: (301) 435-7567

电子邮件: [email protected]

位置
设施: 状态: 联系: National Institutes of Health Clinical Center For more information at the NIH Clinical Center contact Office of Patient Recruitment (OPR) 800-411-1222 TTY8664111010 [email protected]
位置国家

United States

验证日期

2021-04-09

责任方

类型: 赞助

关键词
扩大了访问范围
臂组

标签: Female subjects relatives who are carriers of the AR gene diff

描述: We will enroll 50 female subjects relatives AIS subjects who are carriers of the AR gene difference

标签: 女性不是AR基因携带者的亲属

描述: 我们将招募50名不是AR基因携带者的AIS受试者的女性受试者亲属。

标签: 健康男性受试者的亲戚

描述: 我们将招募50名AIS相关学科的健康男性学科

标签: 雄激素受体突变的受试者

描述: 500名已确认雄激素受体突变的受试者

研究设计信息

观察模型: 同类集体

时间透视: 厨师苏科

This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact [email protected]. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.

Clinical Research News

Androgen Receptor, Implications for Health and Wellbeing: Natural History Study of Individuals With Androgen Insensitivity

Androgen Receptor, Implications for Health and Wellbeing: Natural History Study of Individuals With Androgen Insensitivity

Sponsors

Lead Sponsor: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Source National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
Brief Summary

Background: Androgen effects in humans are usually (but not always) mediated by the androgen receptor which is coded for by the androgen receptor gene (AR gene). Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome (AIS) is a rare condition in which the body cannot sense the male hormones in the blood or tissue. Both women and men can be affected by AIS. Researchers want to learn more about the health of people with AIS over time. With a natural history study in individuals with AIS, data and tests may provide information regarding health risks (including the risks and benefits of gonadectomy and best ways to monitor for tumor) and optimal management of individuals with AIS as well as elucidate the role of the androgen receptor in human health. This study does not involve any interventions and we can provide clinical care while collecting data. Objective: The objective of this natural history study is to describe and define a comprehensive phenotype (characteristic) of patients with AIS based on confirmed androgen receptor (AR) gene difference. We will evaluate hormones, bone density and markers, cardiovascular and metabolic parameters, as well as quality of life and tumor formation risk and evaluation. The purpose is to obtain a better understanding of the overall health issues that people with AIS may have through the study procedures listed. Eligibility: People ages 0-99 with AIS and their adult relatives Design: Participants will go through a series of study procedures for data and specimen collection. This will be done to understand how AIS affects individuals since the androgen receptor is found in many tissues in the body including skin, bone, muscle, and the neurologic, immune and metabolic systems. All tests will be performed by skilled and trained study professionals. Participants will be screened with: Medical history Physical exam Medical record review Lab tests. Participants will have physical exams. Their body measurements will be taken. They will have blood and urine tests. They will have electrocardiograms to check heart health. They may complete questionnaires. They may have an Oral Glucose Tolerance Test. Participants may have x-rays taken of the hand, wrist, and other bones. Participants will have body scans to measure bone thickness. Participants will have magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or sonogram of the pelvis. For MRI, they may get a contrast agent via intravenous (IV) catheter. Adult participants may have the following: MR elastography. It uses MRI and low-frequency vibrations to map stiffness of body tissues. MR spectroscopy. It uses MRI to take pictures of chemicals in the liver and body fat. Cardiac computed tomography scan. It uses x-rays to make pictures of the heart. Participants may get a contrast agent via IV. Optional genital exam. Participants will have visits every 1-2 years. Participation lasts indefinitely. Adult relatives will also be invited to participate but will have only 1 visit. It will include some of the above tests.

Detailed Description

Androgen effects in humans are usually (but not always) mediated by the androgen receptor which is coded for by the androgen receptor gene (AR gene). Individuals with abnormalities of this receptor gene can present with androgen insensitivity syndrome (AIS). There are a variety of phenotypes including complete female phenotype (complete androgen insensitivity or CAIS), ambiguous genitalia in cases of partial androgen insensitivity (PAIS) and male phenotype associated with infertility of hypospadias in mild cases of AIS. Complete androgen insensitivity is a rare condition with an estimated incidence of 1:20,000-64,000, while PAIS is rarer still and mild AIS has likely not been studied enough to ascertain it s prevalence. Individuals with complete and partial AIS present some management conundrums as traditionally they have undergone gonadectomy in order to avoid gonadal tumors as well as pubertal virilization in girls with PAIS. Because this is a rare condition, little is known regarding the risks and benefits of gonadectomy, optimal hormone replacement after gonadectomy as well as general health in individuals with these conditions. Furthermore, the androgen receptor is found in many tissues in the body including skin, bone, muscle, and the neurologic, immune and metabolic systems. Finally, some testosterone effects may be through mechanisms other than AR receptor and these are not well understood. A natural history study in individuals with AIS may provide information regarding health risks and optimal management of individuals with AIS as well as elucidate the role of the androgen receptor in human health.

Overall Status Recruiting
Start Date 2021-07-28
Completion Date 2040-02-01
Primary Completion Date 2040-02-01
Study Type Observational
Primary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
To define and describe a comprehensive phenotype in 500 patients with androgen insensitivity End of study
Secondary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Evaluate Bone Health in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
Metabolic assessment in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
Gonadal Tumor evaluation in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
Quality of life measures (QoL) in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
Effects of hormone therapy in individuals with Androgen Insensitivity End of study
Enrollment 650
Condition
Eligibility

Sampling Method:

Non-Probability Sample

Criteria:

- INCLUSION CRITERIA: Inclusion Criteria for AIS subjects In order to be eligible to participate in this study, an individual must meet all the following criteria: 1. Individuals ages 0-99 years old with known androgen insensitivity based on pathologic androgen receptor gene mutation 2. Identify as male or female 3. Patients with both complete, partial and mild androgen insensitivity are eligible 4. Stated willingness to comply with all study procedures and availability for the duration of the study 5. Ability of subject or guardian to understand and the willingness to sign and date a written informed consent document. Inclusion Criteria for Relative of AIS subjects 1) Adult Relatives of patients with AIS EXCLUSION CRITERIA: Exclusion Criteria for AIS subjects 1. An individual who meets any of the following criteria will be excluded from participation in this study: Patients with other diagnosis such as partial or complete gonadal dysgenesis, 5-alpha reductase deficiency, and 46 XY. If, following a diagnostic work-up, a patient is determined to have causes for 46 XY DSD other than androgen insensitivity; they will no longer be followed on this protocol. They will have the opportunity to continue care with the team under the Data Collection Protocol or may be referred to an expert or multidisciplinary DSD team in the community 2. Patients with significant non-endocrine medical conditions. Exclusion Criteria for Relative of AIS subjects 1) Patients with significant non-endocrine medical conditions. INCLUSION OF VULNERABLE PARTICIPANTS Participation of Children Children will be included in this protocol as AIS is often diagnosed early in life and has effects on puberty and development. Every effort will be made to protect children s rights and safety. Participation of Employees NIH employees may be enrolled in this study as this population meets the study entry criteria. Neither participation nor refusal to participate as a subject in the research will have an effect, either beneficial or adverse, on the participant s employment or position at NIH.

Gender:

All

Minimum Age:

N/A

Maximum Age:

99 Years

Healthy Volunteers:

Accepts Healthy Volunteers

Overall Official
Last Name Role Affiliation
Veronica Gomez-Lobo, M.D. Principal Investigator Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Overall Contact

Last Name: Veronica Gomez-Lobo, M.D.

Phone: (301) 435-7567

Email: [email protected]

Location
Facility: Status: Contact: National Institutes of Health Clinical Center For more information at the NIH Clinical Center contact Office of Patient Recruitment (OPR) 800-411-1222 TTY8664111010 [email protected]
Location Countries

United States

Verification Date

2021-04-09

Responsible Party

Type: Sponsor

Keywords
Has Expanded Access No
Condition Browse
Arm Group

Label: Female subjects relatives who are carriers of the AR gene diff

Description: We will enroll 50 female subjects relatives AIS subjects who are carriers of the AR gene difference

Label: Female subjects relatives who are not carriers of the AR gene

Description: We will enroll 50 female subjects relatives of AIS subjects who are not carriers of the AR gene.

Label: Healthy male subjects relatives

Description: We will enroll 50 healthy male subjects of AIS relative subjects

Label: Subjects with androgen receptor mutations

Description: 500 Subjects with confirmed androgen receptor mutations

Study Design Info

Observational Model: Cohort

Time Perspective: Prospective

This information was retrieved directly from the website clinicaltrials.gov without any changes. If you have any requests to change, remove or update your study details, please contact [email protected]. As soon as a change is implemented on clinicaltrials.gov, this will be updated automatically on our website as well.

Clinical Research News