劳动与分娩视频教育

视频教育工具对第二产程的影响

赞助商

首席赞助商: Washington University School of Medicine

资源 Washington University School of Medicine
简要总结

分娩的第二阶段或推动阶段可能会给人带来挑战和威胁 病人争取第一时间。在具有神经麻醉的女性中,推推可能不会 具有本能,因此使用了各种教练方法来最大限度地提高孕妇驱逐性 努力并最大程度地减少推送时间。时间密集型策略,包括会阴 超声和生物反馈已被用于协助推动,但它们很困难 广泛实施。虽然有些妇女可能参加分娩班或以前 在分娩开始之前接受过有关如何推动的培训,许多妇女在分娩之前无法上课 劳动或不保留他们在劳动前几周在课堂上学到的东西。之前的学习 评估了教练推举对第二阶段时间的影响,并指出 教练可以将第二阶段最多减少13分钟。在大多数临床情况下, 一旦病人完成,护士或提供者的指导或指导就会发生 扩张。这种方法有局限性,因为可能要等待很长时间才能等待教练 繁重的工作是次优的。因此,我们提出了一项随机对照试验 在分娩的第一阶段调查使用教育视频的时间 第二阶段。

详细说明

分娩教育对产妇的结局至关重要。接受正规教育 分娩过程为最佳母婴结合,产后情绪和未来奠定了基础 与医疗保健专业人员的互动。美国妇产科学会 妇科建议患者在分娩和分娩前参加分娩班,但是 以前的研究发现,只有56%的初生妈妈的出勤率下降了 2005年参加分娩教育班,而2001年为70%。 已经确定了接受产前教育的多重障碍。 传统上,分娩教育课程的结构是亲自授课 在数周内进行多次会议,并在分娩前进行。最多 分娩教育班的陪伴费用为医院20至50美元不等 班,私人班数百美元。重大障碍影响患者 参加这些课程的能力,包括难以获得儿童看护,财务 限制,下班时间和交通。冠状病毒 大流行使大多数人面对面地加剧了获得分娩教育的障碍 由于缺少资金或需要社会疏远,小组课程已被取消。 大多数的分娩教育在第一阶段就着重于分娩和疼痛管理的准备 忽略第二阶段的劳动阶段。这是最需要劳动的阶段 产妇的参与和努力。在具有硬膜外麻醉的女性中,推压可能不会 本能,因此,指导和准备对于成功至关重要。 教患者如何推手的当前护理标准是由护士领导的辅导 在患者开始推挤之前立即在床旁进行。在这一点上,大多数 患者感到疲倦,焦虑并且没有足够的时间来处理新知识 了解了如何推动。第二阶段过长或异常与不良反应有关 剖宫产,感染和出血等结局。无脂肪的患者 尤其是在第二阶段,只要不 感到有能力,有知识或参与自己的生育经历。 以前的文献表明,教练的推动可以将第二阶段的持续时间减少多达13 分钟。这很重要,因为延长的第二分娩与孕产妇有关 和新生儿发病率,包括更高的剖宫产率,绒毛膜羊膜炎, 会阴部创伤,NICU入院,新生儿败血症和5分钟时APGAR得分<4。多数情况 临床情况下,护理标准是护士或提供者的指导或指导 一旦患者达到完全扩张。这种方法存在局限性,因为等待 在可能漫长而艰苦的劳动过程之后进行教练是次优的。当医师 并且护士有资格执教,可能并非所有患者都可以使用, 教练的质量可能会受到劳力和交付量和敏锐度的影响。 从理论上讲,基于视频的教育的出现可以轻松地转移到医院 解决此问题,并在放置硬膜外麻醉后允许在分娩期间接受教育, 病人很舒服,并且在推推开始之前就已经很早了。平均劳动时间 初生妈妈的分娩时间为14到20个小时。这是一个合适的窗口 基于视频的分娩教育的时间缩小了分娩教育的差距 差异并增加产妇的参与,而门诊患者没有障碍 环境。这种提供分娩教育的新颖方法的功效尚未得到证实。 经过测试。 为了解决这一质量差距,我们提出了一项比较随机视频的随机试验 基于标准提供者的辅导的教育工具

总体状况 尚未招聘
开始日期 2021-04-01
完成日期 2022-11-01
主要完成日期 2022-07-01
不适用
研究类型 介入性
主要结果
测量 大体时间
第二产程时间 交货
次要结果
测量 大体时间
劳动满意度得分 1天(出院前通过调查评估)
注册 152
健康)状况
介入

干预类型: 其他

干预名称: 分娩教育视频

描述: 教育视频描述技巧

手臂组标签: 教育视频

合格

标准:

入选标准: -裸女 -超过18岁 -单胎 -任期:已怀孕36周 排除标准: -胎儿异常 -事先剖腹产 -valsalva的禁忌症 -盲人患者 -分娩第二阶段

性别: 女性

基于性别: 是的

最低年龄: 18年

最高年龄: 不适用

健康志愿者:

总体联系方式

姓: Rebecca R Rimsza, MD

电话: 314-747-2362

电子邮件: [email protected]

验证日期

2021-02-01

责任方

类型: 首席研究员

研究者隶属关系: 华盛顿大学医学院

调查员全名: Rebecca Rimsza

研究者职务: 临床研究员

扩大了访问范围
臂数 2
臂组

标签: 标准治疗

类型: 没有干预

描述: 劳工和送货人员的标准床边指导

标签: 教育视频

类型: 实验性

描述: 除了劳工和分娩人员在床旁进行的标准指导外,患者还将观看提供的指导视频

研究设计信息

分配: 随机化

干预模式: 并行分配

首要目标: 卫生服务研究

掩蔽: 无(打开标签)

資料來源:ClinicalTrials.gov

Clinical Research News

Video Education for Labor and Delivery

Impact of a Video Education Tool for the Second Stage of Labor

Sponsors

Lead Sponsor: Washington University School of Medicine

Source Washington University School of Medicine
Brief Summary

The second stage of labor or the pushing stage can be challenging and intimidating for patients delivering for the fist time. Among women with neuraxial anesthesia pushing may not be instinctive and therefore various coaching methods are used to maximize maternal expulsive efforts and minimize pushing time. Time intensive strategies including transperineally ultrasound and bio-feedback have been employed to assist with pushing but they are difficult to implement widely. While some women may attend birthing classes or have previously been coached on pushing prior to the onset of labor, many women are unable to access classes prior to labor or do not retain what they learned in a class weeks prior to labor. Previous studies have evaluated the effect of coached pushing on the length of second stage and have indicated that coaching can decrease the second stage up to 13 minutes. In most clinical scenarios, coaching or guidance from the nurse or provider happens once the patient attains complete dilation. There are limitations to this approach as waiting to coach after a potentially long and arduous labor is suboptimal. Therefore, we propose a randomized controlled trial investigating the use of an educational video during the first stage of labor on length of the second stage.

Detailed Description

Childbirth education is critical to maternal outcomes. Receiving formal education on the birthing process sets the stage for optimal mother/baby bonding, postpartum mood, and future interactions with healthcare professionals. The American Congress of Obstetrics and Gynecology recommends patients attend birthing classes prior to labor and delivery, however previous studies found that attendance is dropping with only 56% of first-time mothers attending childbirth education classes in 2005 compared to 70% in 2001. Multiple barriers to accessing prenatal childbirth education have been identified. Traditionally, childbirth education classes are structured as in person lectures with multiple sessions over a period of weeks and are taken prior to the onset of labor. Most childbirth education classes have accompanying costs ranging from $20-$50 for hospital classes and hundreds of dollars for private classes. Significant barriers impact patients ability to attend these classes including difficulty obtaining childcare, financial constraints, getting time off from work, and obtaining transportation. The Coronavirus pandemic has further worsened barriers to accessing childbirth education as most in-person group classes have been cancelled due to lack of funding or need for social distancing. Most childbirth education focuses on preparation for labor and pain management in the first stage of labor neglecting the second stage. This is the stage of labor that requires the most maternal involvement and effort. Among women with epidural anesthesia pushing may not be instinctive and hence, coaching and preparation are integral to success. The current standard of care for teaching a patient how to push is nurse-led coaching performed at the bedside immediately before the patient starts pushing. At this point, most patients are tired, anxious, and have not had enough time to process the new knowledge learned about how to push. A long or abnormal second stage is associated with adverse outcomes such as cesarean delivery, infection, and hemorrhage. Nulliparous patients are especially vulnerable to these adverse outcomes in the second stage so long as they do not feel empowered, knowledgeable, or involved in their own birth experiences. Previous literature shows that coached pushing can decrease second stage duration up to 13 minutes. This is important as a prolonged second stage of labor is associated with maternal and neonatal morbidity including higher rates of cesarean delivery, chorioamnionitis, perineal trauma, NICU admission, neonatal sepsis, and APGAR score < 4 at 5 minutes. In most clinical scenarios, the standard of care is coaching or guidance from the nurse or provider once the patient reaches complete dilation. There are limitations to this approach as waiting to coach after a potentially long and arduous labor course is suboptimal. While physicians and nurses are qualified to coach, they may not be universally available to all patients and the quality of coaching may be impacted by volume and acuity on Labor & Delivery. In theory, the advent of video-based education can easily be transferred to the hospital to address this issue and allows for education during labor once an epidural is placed, the patient is comfortable, and well before pushing starts. The average duration of labor and delivery in a first-time mother ranges from 14 to 20 hours. This presents an opportune window of time for video-based childbirth education to narrow gaps in childbirth education disparities and increase maternal involvement without the barriers present in the outpatient setting. The efficacy of this novel way of providing childbirth education has not been tested. To address this quality gap, we propose a randomized trial comparing an intrapartum video education tool to standard provider-based coaching

Overall Status Not yet recruiting
Start Date April 1, 2021
Completion Date November 1, 2022
Primary Completion Date July 1, 2022
Phase N/A
Study Type Interventional
Primary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Length of the Second Stage of Labor delivery
Secondary Outcome
Measure Time Frame
Labor Satisfaction Scores 1 day ( Assessed via survey prior to discharge from the hospital)
Enrollment 152
Condition
Intervention

Intervention Type: Other

Intervention Name: Childbirth Educational Video

Description: Educational video describing techniques for pushing

Arm Group Label: Educational Video

Eligibility

Criteria:

Inclusion Criteria: - Nulliparous women - Over 18 year of age - Single fetus - Term: has completed 36 weeks of pregnancy Exclusion Criteria: - fetal anomalies - Prior cesarean delivery - contraindication to valsalva - blind patients - admission in the second stage of labor

Gender: Female

Gender Based: Yes

Minimum Age: 18 Years

Maximum Age: N/A

Healthy Volunteers: No

Overall Contact

Last Name: Rebecca R Rimsza, MD

Phone: 314-747-2362

Email: [email protected]

Verification Date

February 2021

Responsible Party

Type: Principal Investigator

Investigator Affiliation: Washington University School of Medicine

Investigator Full Name: Rebecca Rimsza

Investigator Title: Clinical Fellow

Has Expanded Access No
Number Of Arms 2
Arm Group

Label: Standard Treatment

Type: No Intervention

Description: Standard bedside coaching by labor and delivery staff

Label: Educational Video

Type: Experimental

Description: Patients will watch the provided coaching video in addition to standard bedside coaching by labor and delivery staff

Patient Data No
Study Design Info

Allocation: Randomized

Intervention Model: Parallel Assignment

Primary Purpose: Health Services Research

Masking: None (Open Label)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov